Skip to content

A new look at macaroni salad

June 2, 2009

Macaroni Salad

I’ve never been a big fan of pasta salads.  This one might turn me around though.  It’s nothing fancy, really.  There’s just something about it that appeals to me.  I originally saw this at Buns in my Oven, where she called it a BLT macaroni salad.  I played around with it a little bit and while the bacon was tasty, I think next time I’ll swap it out for grilled chicken instead.  I guess I won’t be calling it BLT macaroni salad, huh?  My version includes a nice, ripe avocado, and I tossed in some crumbled feta, which added just the right finishing touch.  Maybe grilled chicken AND bacon.  Hmm.  Wheels are turning here.  It’s good stuff.

Recipe:  Macaroni Salad

1 lb. whole wheat macaroni

10 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

2 large tomatoes, diced

3 bunches green onion, sliced thinly, green parts only

1 avocado, diced

1 c. mayonnaise

1/4 white vinegar

crumbled feta cheese, to taste

salt and pepper, to taste

Boil and drain pasta according to package directions.  Cook bacon and allow to drain on paper towels.  Meanwhile, dice tomatoes, chop onions and dice avocado.  In a large bowl, combine, mayonnaise and vinegar.  Stir in tomatoes, onions, avocado, salt, and pepper.  Add pasta and feta cheese.  Mix thoroughly.  Refrigerate before serving.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nutmegnanny permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:04 pm

    You had me at bacon!

  2. June 3, 2009 9:34 pm

    I love pasta salad, grew up on the stuff. I like your addition of avocado and feta. I agree that grilled chicken would be great and make this a meal all in one dish.

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:42 am

    Nutmegnanny – LOL

    Robin Sue – I like the one dish meal idea too. Makes summer meals a breeze.

Leave a Reply

