Skip to content

Mango chutney

June 4, 2009

Mango Chutney

I’d found a recipe for curried chicken salad that called for mango chutney, which I’ve never tried and was going to have to make.  I’ll share the salad recipe tomorrow, but for today you get the chutney.

This is a breeze to make and you get such a complex flavor.  I’m totally sold on it.  It’s made with mangoes and apples, which give it a sweetness.  But then you get a little kick from some red pepper, ginger, and curry powder.  Top that off with a bit of spice from nutmeg and cinnamon.  Crazy good.

I’ve never canned or preserved anything, so I didn’t even attempt to can this chutney, but I do think it’d be a great idea.  Instead, I’m trying to freeze our leftovers, just to see if it works or not.  I halved the recipe when I made it but I still got two small containers full of this beautiful stuff.  It’s just so hard to keep something to myself when it tastes this good.  Maybe canning is in my future.

Recipe:  Mango Chutney

(adapted from Epicurious)

3 medium apples, peeled, cored, and chopped  (I used Gala and Granny Smith)

2 large mangoes, peeled and chopped

1/2 medium sweet red pepper, finely chopped

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 c. finely chopped onion

1/2 c. white vinegar

1/4 c. finely chopped and peeled gingerroot

1 Tbsp. lemon juice

2 tsp. curry powder

1/2 tsp. each:  ground nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt

Combine apples, mangoes, red pepper, sugar, onion, vinegar, and gingerroot in a large stainless steel or enamel saucepan.  Bring to a boil over high heat; reduce heat and boil gently, uncovered, for 20 minutes.  Fruit will become tender and mixture will thicken.  Stir occasionally.  Add lemon juice, curry powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt.  Boil gently for another 5 minutes.

Serving suggestions:  atop grilled chicken; in curried chicken salad

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

