Skip to content

Sweet potato chips with lime

June 5, 2009

Sweet Potato Chips with Lime

I have a major weakness for salty, crunchy snacks.  I’m always so happy when Friday rolls around because it’s our “movie night” and I always make nachos.  But aside from that, I rarely ever buy a bag of chips.  I can seriously eat all of them by myself.  Not something I’m particularly proud of, but true nonetheless.  It’s just better if they aren’t even around.

Anyway.  Not having them in the house doesn’t keep me from wanting them.  I had bookmarked a recipe for sweet potato chips from A Southern Grace quite a while ago and I got inspired to try them today.  I followed Grace’s simple instructions with one addition.  I also added some fresh lime zest to the chips.  I loved the mix of salty sweet with a tiny taste of citrus.  These are a pretty tasty (and healthy) snack.  The only complaint I have is that some of the chips didn’t stay crunchy.  I had read somewhere that you could just reheat them and they’d crunch back up.  They didn’t stick around long enough to test that theory though.

Recipe:  Sweet Potato Chips

sweet potatoes, as many as you like  (I used 3 potatoes.)

cooking spray

kosher salt or sea salt

zest from 2 limes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Using a mandolin, food processor, or a sharp knife, slice your scrubbed (but not peeled) sweet potatoes into thin slices.  Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray paper with cooking spray.  Lay potato slices on the sheet, then spray again with cooking spray.  Sprinkle with salt and lime zest.  Bake 15 minutes, then remove from oven to turn slices over.  (No need to spray them this time.)  Sprinkle with salt and lime zest again.  Return to oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes.  Watch carefully to prevent burning.  You may need to remove a few chips from the tray that are browning too fast.  Just return the remainder to the oven to finish baking.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 1:18 am

    Mmmm, these look sooooo tasty! – And relatively healthy too!
    I have all these ingredients in the house… I feel some sweet potato chips coming on =)

  2. June 6, 2009 10:05 pm

    These look perfect. I can’t believe they aren’t fried. They look so crispy!

  3. June 7, 2009 2:36 am

    I am EXACTLY the same way… I love salty snacks, but I can’t buy chips especially because I can’t control myself. These look so good! I need to get a mandolin slicer so that I can try these, and I think I’d like to learn how to make my own potato chips in general. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. June 7, 2009 3:24 pm

    fabulous! i love your addition of lime! i’m beginning to truly believe that everything is better when it’s homemade. now if only i could make my own puff pastry… :)

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:35 am

    Marian – They’re definitely healthy but you don’t even think about it while you’re snacking on them. That’s a plus for me.

    Food Librarian – Thank you!

    Farmer Gal – I used my food processor for these since I don’t have a mandolin either.

    Grace – Thanks for inspiring me with the recipe!

Leave a Reply

