Skip to content

Green cleaning with vinegar

June 6, 2009

I am not one of those moms who has a spotless house, let me tell ya.  Sure, I’d like things to always look perfect, but they rarely do.  There are just so many things I’d rather be doing than cleaning.  Cleaning’s a chore.  It’s not fun.  And I don’t find it enjoyable in the least.

Now all that being said, I obviously still have to clean, right?  In my efforts towards becoming a shade of green, I’ve given my cleaning supplies a major overhaul.  My theory is:  If I can’t stand to be in the room smelling something I’m cleaning with, then I really shouldn’t be using it.

With that in mind, I’ve switched over to the Seventh Generation brand in many things.  I love it, honestly.  Even if someone drank the stuff, they could just drink a bunch of water to flush their system.  No poison control.  No 911.  No doctor visits.  Of course, I wouldn’t recommend drinking it, but you see my point.

In addition to my Seventh Generation products, I’m trying to use white vinegar more.  It’s really amazing what it can do.  Please check out Vinegar Tips to get a great list of its uses.  My usuals include unclogging and cleaning my bathroom drain, deodorizing the garbage disposal, cleaning the coffeepot, and de-germing the bathroom.  I know that’s probably not a word, but it seems nicer than saying germ-killing.  Anyway, it works.  Check it out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 2:39 am

    I like the Seventh Generation stuff too, and any cleaners that lean more toward the ‘natural’ side. My lungs are really sensitive to chemicals, so I have to be careful what I use.

  2. June 9, 2009 4:06 pm

    Awesome advice! I’ve decided that after this batch of cleaning supplies run out, I’m going to simplify simplify simplify and just use vinegar for anything I can. It’s pretty much all I need aside from good old fashioned water and the occasional bleach (for that once-a-year scrub the bathtub real good event). Oh, and furniture polish, though I use it more often to rub labels off jars than to polish my laminate furniture. ;)

  3. November 13, 2010 3:14 pm

    cleaning supplies should have earth friendly organic ingredients so that they do not harm the environment “`~

  4. October 30, 2011 10:32 pm

    Found this on-board Yahoo! It’s an unsatisfactory mishap that are ranging up to speed air…wonder about whether or not it’ll nibble on…

Leave a Reply

