Skip to content

Parmesan-roasted cauliflower

June 6, 2009

Parmesan-Roasted Cauliflower

I am a sucker for roasted vegetables.  Even veggies I wouldn’t normally enjoy, like brussel sprouts for instance, become instantly good when tossed with some olive oil and roasted in a hot oven.

I saw this recipe in Barefoot Contessa at Home by Ina Garten and couldn’t wait for dinner that night to try it.  I really like cauliflower, but I’d much rather eat it raw than cooked.  This just sounded so good that I made an exception.  Roasted vegetable + cheese??  That’s got to be a winner.  The original recipe actually calls for two kinds of cheeses, but I only had the one.  Definitely delicious and one of those recipes that made me question why I hadn’t thought of it myself.  I guess that’s why Ina’s the Barefoot Contessa and I’m not.

Recipe:  Parmesan-Roasted Cauliflower

1 large head of cauliflower

3 Tbsp. olive oil

kosher salt and fresh ground pepper

1 c. grated Parmesan cheese

1 c. grated Gruyere cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut cauliflower into florets, discarding the stems.  Place the florets on a sheet pan.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper.  Toss well.  Bake for 30 minutes, tossing once, until the cauliflower is tender and starts to brown.  Sprinkle with cheeses and bake 1-2 more minutes or just until cheese melts.  Season to taste and serve hot or warm.  Serves 6.

(I will cook this at a higher temperature next time because I like my veggies to get a little browner when they’re roasted.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 2:42 am

    This is one of the reasons why I love your site… You seem to find creative ways to use the less-common vegetables. (I know cauliflower isn’t ‘uncommon’… But you just don’t see as many recipes using it.) I still daydream about those mashed parsnips that you posted awhile back and I tried. They were SO good!

    Thanks for linking my blog, by the way! I just noticed! :)

  2. June 7, 2009 4:24 am

    Wow, there’s a little bit of cheese in this huh? It certainly IS an Ina recipe. I love roasted cauliflower, the gruyere is probably so perfect with it.

  3. June 7, 2009 9:23 pm

    I have been on the roasted veggie scene too. Love that flavor! This recipe looks great and since roasted caulie is one of my favorites these extra ingredients will make it even better. Ina has the best recipes.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:33 am

    Farmer Gal – Thanks and you’re very welcome!

    Sara – Oh yeah, there’s a little cheese. Yum.

    Robin Sue – I love roasted veggies too. Only Ina would think to one-up it w/ all that cheese.

  5. June 15, 2009 11:22 am

    I am not too keen on Parmesan so could anyone suggest another alternative…? I adore caulie so I’m gonna def make this even with the one cheese if necessary! :)

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 23, 2009 11:20 am

    MJK06 – Use whatever cheeses you like…. I think it’s going to taste great no matter what you use.

Leave a Reply

