Skip to content

Cucumber fruit salad

June 8, 2009
tags: , ,

Cucumber Fruit Salad

This is a light summer fruit salad that I found at allrecipes.  It’s made with simple things you probably already have in your fridge – apples, grapes, cucumbers, and sour cream.  I also always have some sort of nuts – walnuts and pecans, especially – in the freezer.  We enjoyed this on its own, but it would be a good side dish or even a dessert.  The dressing is a nice compliment without smothering the fruit and cucumber.   We had this two days in a row and the apples didn’t show any sign of browning at all.  It’s a refreshing salad that I’ll definitely be adding to my summer menus.

Recipe:  Cucumber Fruit Salad

1 medium seedless cucumber, diced

1 medium tart apple, chopped

1 c. each, halved green and red grapes

1/2 c. sour cream

1 Tbsp. sugar

1 Tbsp. minced fresh parsley  (I think mint would be nice too.)

1/3 c. chopped walnuts

In a bowl, combine the cucumber, apple, and grapes.  In a small bowl, combine sour cream, sugar, and parsley.  Pour over the cucumber mixture and toss to coat.  Stir in walnuts.  Serve immediately.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 5:05 pm

    I’m not certain if the twins would like this as they are leey of sour cream as a main ingredient. Babygirl on the other hand eats it by the spoonful! Did you guys really like this one?

    Btw, your photo is really good!
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 8, 2009 5:51 pm

    Ingrid – I really did like this. I wasn’t sure if I’d like the cucumbers in there, but they’re a perfect match. Let me know if you try it.

  3. Dani permalink
    June 16, 2009 1:04 pm

    I was a little hesitant going into this recipe…but I know Shell would not steer me wrong. I made this salad on Sunday. Mom and Charlie were coming to visit so I figured it would be the perfect time to try it out.

    Honestly…it was WONDERFUL!!! It is so light and tasty…the perfect summer treat. Believe it or not…mom even said she was going to make it sometime and she does not like to eat new things.

    I cannot wait to make it for some friends.

Leave a Reply

