Skip to content

Honey limeade

June 9, 2009

Well, here we sit with no air conditioner to speak of.  Still.  But the bright side is that the nice guy who has been searching high and low for a motor to replace this 24 year old beast is coming tonight to fix it.  Hopefully.  Nobody’s sure it’ll actually work, but our fingers are crossed.

The rain has finally stayed away for three whole days now and the temperature has soared.  The kids have spent pretty much all day in and out of our little pool, which puts me on the deck for most of the day.  And mercy, is it hot.  I’m not complaining about the heat, really.  I’d take it over snow or rain any day of the week.  I’m just stating the facts, ma’am.

To beat the heat, my expert juicer (Claudia) and I made some limeade.  Ahhh.  Tart, cold, and more refreshing than I can even describe.  My juicer did a mild bit of complaining, though, at how much smaller and harder limes are to squeeze than lemons.  She tried to talk me into scrapping the whole thing and making lemonade instead.  I’m glad we didn’t.  I’ve really enjoyed having this today.

Recipe:  Honey Limeade

(from allrecipes)

1 c. fresh sqeezed lime juice

5 c. water

2/3 c. granulated sugar

2 Tbsp. honey

In a pitcher, combine lime juice, water, sugar, and honey.  Stir until sugar is dissolved.  Chill.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 4:17 pm

    Oh, boy still no A/C? YIKES, I sure hope it works. Btw, stop torturing your poor babygirl! Juicing those lime are a chore!
    ~ingrid

  2. June 9, 2009 7:06 pm

    this looks so yummy…perfect for the summer heat for sure! i have a bunch of limes on my counter too…

  3. June 9, 2009 7:32 pm

    I love limeade…yours looks delicious! I like your picture…I wish I could do fun stuff like that! :)

  4. June 9, 2009 8:15 pm

    i’m on a HUGE lime kick right now, and this sounds positively delightful! it’d make ya pucker and swoon all at once. :)

  5. June 9, 2009 9:29 pm

    Mmm! Sounds delicious and refreshing with honey. Perfect for hot weather.

  6. sumshay permalink
    June 10, 2009 1:22 pm

    Okay if I add a little vodka to mine? It would make the day go so much smoother!!

    And since my girls don’t like lime–all the more for me –with the added bonus! : )

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:30 am

    Ingrid – I’ll cut back on the limeade and let her make lemonade next time. : )
    Thanks for looking after my girl.

    Cindy – It definitely is a refreshing drink and perfect for summer.

    Jamie – Why can’t you?? Your blog is awesome!

    Grace – You hit it exactly…. pucker and swoon….. I love it.

    Lisa – The honey does add a nice touch. Hope you try it.

    Sumshay – LOL You’re killing me. Don’t forget to salt the rim of your glass too! And call me and I’ll be over to help you drink them. LOL

Leave a Reply

