Skip to content

Baba ganoush

June 10, 2009

Baba Ganoush

For those of you who are eggplant lovers, this might catch your eye.  Truthfully, I didn’t even know baba ganoush was an eggplant dip.  I guess I need to broaden my dip knowledge.  I’ll tell you another thing.  I was really only drawn to this recipe because I like what it’s called.  Baba ganoush.  It just sounds like it’d have to be something really good.  Baba ganoush.  {insert silly grin here}  I like the words, but it turns out that I’m not a fan of the actual dish.  Go figure.  I’m kind of disappointed all the way around.  I actually found it to be just too bland for me, which is saying a lot since I’m no aficionado of real spicy food in the first place.  Maybe with some cumin?  I don’t know.  You give it a try and let me know what you think.

Recipe:  Baba Ganoush

(from David Lebovitz blog archives)

3 medium sized eggplants

1/2 c. tahini

1 1/4 tsp. coarse salt

3 Tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed

1/8 tsp. chili powder

1 Tbsp. olive oil

half bunch picked parsley or cilantro leaves

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Prick each eggplant a few times, then char the outside of the eggplants by placing them directly on the flame of a gas burner.  As the skin chars, turn them until the eggplants are uniformly charred.  (This can also be done under the broiler.)

Place the eggplants on a baking sheet and roast in the oven for 20-30 minutes, until they are completely soft.  You should easily be able to poke a paring knife into them w/ no resistance.  Remove from oven and cool.

Split the eggplants and scrape out the pulp.  Puree the pulp in a blender or food processor with the other ingredients until smooth.  Taste and season with additional salt and lemon juice, if necessary.  Chill for a few hours before serving with crackers, baguette, or pita chips.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 3:02 pm

    That’s funny that it was the name that caught your attention because as soon as I read your post name, Baba Ganoush I thought what a fun name! :) I’m a bit odd in that I like funny or uncommon words.

    That’s a bummer that it was a disappointment.
    ~ingrid

  2. June 11, 2009 10:42 am

    i love baba ganoush, but i have had some pretty boring versions. i think cumin would be a nice touch–don’t give up on it yet! :)

  3. Hayma permalink
    June 11, 2009 2:26 pm

    Well …what is shown and described is not really baba ghanouj but what we call Moutaball egplant with the Tahine (sesame sauce)…
    Baba ghanouj ingredients are :
    eggplant, tomato, green peper, fresh mint, parsly, onion, garlic, lemon, olive oil and pomegranate sauce….it is delicious ………it is from the middle east ..well known in lebanon, syria, jordan etc…

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 11, 2009 5:29 pm

    Ingrid – I might give it another whirl one of these days, following Hayma’s direction next time.

    Grace – Maybe you ought to post your recipe. {hint}

    Hayma – Really? I hope you share your some of your recipes with me soon.

  5. June 11, 2009 10:32 pm

    Baba ghanoush is one of my absolute favourite dishes in the world. I usually follow the recipe in Joy of Cooking but I’ll give this one a try.
    By the way I tried the sweet potato chips, but they didn’t come out so good… .

  6. June 11, 2009 10:34 pm

    By the way, just looking at this is making my mouth water. I need to go get some eggplants…

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:42 pm

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I’m going to check out the recipe at Joy of Cooking. This one just didn’t cut it for me. Let me know if you try it though, and what you think of it. Maybe I just really don’t like baba ganoush and just don’t know it yet. : )

Leave a Reply

