Skip to content

Natural pest control

June 10, 2009

Every year, about this time, we get some pesky visitors in the kitchen.  I’m talking about ants.  I can’t stand it.  In the past, I’ve used anything from harsh cleaning products to ant repellents to get rid of them.  This year, I knew I wanted to find a safer, natural way to keep them out of the house.  I found a “recipe” for an ant repellent that is amazing.  Works like it’s supposed to and isn’t harmful to the rest of us.  Now, I realize, it’s super harmful to the ants.  Am I being cruel?  What is the right thing to do then?  Shoo the ants back outside?  I didn’t.  I made this concoction and squirted the heck out of them.  And it worked.  The idea is that you make a 40-40-20 mixture of rubbing alcohol, water, and dish detergent.  The dish detergent is important because it erases the scent trail.  If you’ve ever had an ant farm, you know that ants actually collect their dead cronies to bury them.  In an ant farm or an ant hill outside of my house, I think that’s amazing.  An ant colony is a really interesting community.  But like I said – they’re really not a welcome addition inside(found at DIY Life)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 2:03 am

    Very interesting! Time to say bye bye to the little friends in the kitchen.

  2. sumshay permalink
    June 10, 2009 1:27 pm

    Good solution! We have visitors as well, but as with most visitors, they’ve overstayed their welcome. In fact, like most of our visitors, I never invited them in the first place! Anyway, I digress…

    I’ve been using Seventh Gen’s all purpose cleaner which so far has killed any on the spot and virtually eliminated any newcomers. But I like your “green” solution even better–less expensive and easily made when needed.

  3. June 10, 2009 3:09 pm

    I live in the bug capital of the WORLD! I really don’t like bugs but ants don’t bother me much. They are pretty darn amazing. I actually got an ant farm as Valentine’s gift when I was a teenager. (I wanted it.)

    I also went to a museum (can’t remember which one now) in NYC and they had an art farm that went ran the the perimeter of the room. It was waaaaaaay cool.
    ~ingrid

  4. Kate permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:48 am

    I’m a student at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and I’m making a short film to raise awareness of environmental issues in our area. I’d like to use your ant picture in a food web visual. Would that be alright?

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:53 am

    Kate – Good luck on your project! The ant pic is actually just free photo clip art. Thanks for asking me though. : )
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. I Raise Animals from the Dead so you don’t have to at I Do Things So You Don’t Have To
  2. the data recovery co » I Raise Animals from the Dead

Leave a Reply

