Skip to content

Honey lime dressing

June 29, 2009

‘Ohana Honey Lime Dressing

One of the places we enjoyed eating during our stay at WDW was ‘Ohana.   My Sam is a major meat lover and wanted to go to an “all-you-can-eat meat restaurant.”  ‘Ohana fit the bill.  A huge variety of meat was prepared on long metal skewers over an 18 foot fire pit and grill, right in front of us.  The servers carried the skewers right to our table and doled out whatever we asked for, along with some fabulous regional sides and dipping sauces.  The whole experience makes you feel like you’re feasting on a Polynesian island.

Anyway, while the meats were definitely delicious and there really was an endless supply of them brought to our table, one of my favorite things about our meal was the house dressing.  It’s a simple honey-lime dressing that’s light and tasty, and a nice compliment to any kind of salad.

Recipe:  Honey Lime Dressing

(‘Ohana House Dressing, found at allears.net)

1/2 c. honey

1 tsp. dry mustard

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 c. apple cider vinegar

1/4 c. lime juice

1/4 c. diced onion  (I used a red onion, which gave my dressing a pink hue.  I’d use a white onion next time.)

1 c. canola oil

Place all ingredients except oil in a blender and blend until smooth.  Slowly add oil until it is well incorporated into the dressing.  Makes 2 cups.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 2:07 pm

    “A huge variety of meat was prepared on long metal skewers over an 18 foot fire pit and grill, right in front of us”

    Um, sign me up for this! Sounds a little like Fogo de Chao (Brazilian churrascaria steakhouse).

    Why did you go with canola here instead of olive oil? You think it is better more neutral? I can see the honey off setting some of the bite from the lime juice/vinegar, so maybe it would be better…

  2. June 29, 2009 2:15 pm

    Do you think the onion is absolutely necessary? I’m not a big onion fan, and that seems like a LOT of onion.

  3. June 29, 2009 2:17 pm

    Sorry, one more thing: do you think I could use regular dijon (or country dijon) mustard? I don’t think I have dry mustard and the only reason I’d buy it would be for this dressing.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 29, 2009 3:47 pm

    Diana – It does seem like a lot of onion, but once it’s all whirred up you just get a nice addition of flavor from it. You could try cutting it back or out all together, but I can’t promise it’ll taste as good. : ) As for the mustard, just use what you have. I don’t imagine that part will make a big difference. I wouldn’t buy dry mustard just for a dressing. Let me know if you try it…
    Michelle

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 29, 2009 3:49 pm

    Nick – As for the canola oil, I used it in place of olive oil simply because that’s what the recipe called for. It probably made the dressing lighter than olive oil would.
    Michelle

  6. June 30, 2009 4:32 pm

    Mmm, Crispers has a good one but I bet this one’s even better!
    ~ingrid

  7. July 26, 2009 2:58 am

    Ohana’s restaurant at the Polynesian Resort is my familiy’s favorite place to eat when we are at Disney’s. This Lime Dressing I think is my favorite, I can’t seem to get enough of it. We have been there so much, we got to know one of our waiters, he suprised us one night and gave us a packet on how to make the food on the entire menu. I have temporarily misplaced it, thanks for posting the recipe. I also have a meat loving Sam, she is eight years old.

  8. June 18, 2013 7:26 pm

    This is my favorite dressing! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

