Skip to content

Look what we found…

June 30, 2009
tags:

I told you that my whole family was visiting this past weekend.  Well, Bea, Mom and I were headed out to do a little shopping on Sunday, and as I was driving my mom suddenly yelled that there was a kitten in the road.  Mind you, I had already driven over it when she realized what it was.  Luckily, no one was around so I stopped and turned around, and thankfully I hadn’t actually run over it – I drove over it.  It was crouched down in the middle of the lane I’d been in, shaking like a little leaf.  Bea jumped out and got it before any other cars came.  There was a farm nearby, so we stopped by to ask if it belonged to them and had just wandered off.  We knew the answer before we even asked though.  Most likely, the kitten (or several of them) were dumped by the side of the road or in a field because someone wanted to get rid of them.

The whole idea of doing something like that is sickening.  If you have pets, you should be responsible enough to have them spayed or neutered.  And if you do end up with a litter of kittens or puppies, is it really that hard to take them to a shelter?  Or put an ad in the paper or on craigslist?  It takes very little effort to do the right thing.

Now Bea’s family seems to have itself a new kitten.  She’s a trooper, I can tell you that.  She survived being abandoned and nearly killed, then she traveled in a car for roughly 6 hours.  She’s none the worse for wear and she is greatly adored already.  And they lived happily ever after.  The End.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 12:42 pm

    Awww, poor thing! It’s a good thing she was found by people like you and has a happy home now.
    Definitely not an ordinary day. =)

  2. June 30, 2009 2:24 pm

    Aw, she’s so sweet! I hate that people just drop off animals. They do it in the field behind my house too. Last year someone dumped a large litter of kittens. It’s actually been kinda nice, the kittens took care of the field mouse problem we’d been having ;) So now we leave them treats.

  3. June 30, 2009 4:27 pm

    Aw, my little tree hugger would love to be the owner of such a sweet kitty. Unfortunately her mean mommy wants to ruin her life! :) Yeah, that’s what she tells me.

    We have a neighbor who rescued a kitten and then proceeded to allow it to populate the neighborhood with stray kitties. Luckily another neighbor asked for her and had her fixed after three consecutive litters!
    ~ingrid

  4. July 2, 2009 11:20 pm

    I’ve had my cat for seven years now, all because a friend of a friend found her next to the side of the road in the middle of winter, very cold and malnourished.

    She’s definitely living the good life now. :)

  5. July 15, 2009 8:12 am

    We miss our Himalayan-mix mutt a lot (passed away after Valentines day). I cannot believe that people can be so ugly as to dump kittens on the side of the road! :( Glad there was a happy ending for the lucky kitty that was picked up.

Leave a Reply

