Skip to content

Lime ice cream

July 2, 2009

Lime Ice Cream

I finally bought an ice cream maker and wanted to try it out with this lime ice cream.  The problem I ran into is that I don’t really know a thing about making ice cream.  The recipe called for heavy cream and I didn’t have any, so I substituted with half and half.  If you’re a seasoned ice cream maker, could you help me out here?  Would that mess with the consistency of the finished product?

We tasted this when we took it out of the ice cream machine (before we put it into the freezer to harden up).  It was amazing.  A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.  And so pretty with all the little flecks of lime.  I was totally excited to try it again.

But when we went for a bowl of the completely frozen ice cream, the texture was totally off.  It sounds odd, but it was almost crumbly.  We could scoop it into a neat little round scoop, but as soon as you tried to dig into it with a spoon, it crumbled.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  So weird.  I think what I ended up doing was making more of an ice milk than ice cream.  The half and half would have put more milk than cream in my mixture and the texture would be that of ice milk.  Am I onto something here?

So, help me please.  Was it the half and half?  What went wrong?  I was having more success with my ice cream and frozen yogurt before the ice cream maker.  {shrug}

Recipe:  Lime Ice Cream

(from Technicolor Kitchen)

2 large limes for zesting

1/2 c. + 2 Tbsp. fine sugar

1/2 c. fresh squeezed lime juice – from about 3 large limes

1 c. whole milk

1 c. heavy cream

pinch of salt

Zest the limes directly into a food processor or blender.  Add the sugar and lime juice, and blend until the sugar is dissolved.  Blend in milk and heavy cream.

Chill for 1 hour, then freeze mixture in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Makes 1 quart.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 2:37 pm

    you know, if this is anything like that neon lime sherbet of my childhood, i’ll be all over it. :)

  2. July 2, 2009 4:17 pm

    I’m not an expert or anything, but I have done a good bit of ice cream. I think you pretty much need a 1:1 (or pretty close to it) ratio of cream to milk. Did you sub the half and half for just the cream? I think you’d probably have been ok if you’d used just the half and half instead of the milk and the cream. Either way, the lime ice cream sounds great!

  3. July 2, 2009 6:31 pm

    I make ice cream all the time but I’m by no means an expert. Because you didn’t have heavy cream and you were using half & half as a sub. you should have cut back on the whole milk. This recipe is nice in that the ratio of milk to cream is the same so you could have just used 2 cups of half&half which would have been 1 C. cream & 1 C. milk.
    Ice cream is really quite forgiving. Generally it will still taste good reagrdless of how you play around with the milk, cream, etc. The texture on the other hand will be another story.

    Now that you’re playing around with ice cream and your new maker. Let me know if you spot a recipe for sweet cream and birthday cake. :)
    ~ingrid

  4. July 2, 2009 7:42 pm

    I know nothing about making ice cream, so am not here to offer any help… Just to say that I am so jealous that you got an ice cream maker! Crumbly or not, it sure looks good in the picture. I’d love to get one, but am afraid that it would be the death of me. I have a love/hate relationship with heavy cream… Love how it tastes (in just about anything) but hate how it looks on my thighs! ;)

  5. foododelmundo permalink
    July 2, 2009 8:44 pm

    I’ve been thinking of getting an ice cream maker and have backed down because it would be too DANGEROUS! I did however read on David Lebovits’ (sp?) site that I don’t need a maker – just time and a lot of patience and stirring. I’m not sure if this is a good thing to know or not. I have no idea about the consistency issue, but I’m glad it tasted good!

  6. July 2, 2009 11:18 pm

    Michelle, thank you for your wonderful comments!

    It’s interesting that the first post of yours that I’ve seen is about ice cream. I’ve been contemplating getting an ice cream maker for some time now, I just haven’t yet made that leap…

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 2, 2009 11:29 pm

    Grace – This was much more sophisticated than that, though that bright lime sherbet was always a favorite of mine too! This was a lot more natural tasting.

    Jennie – Thank you! Great suggestions and I bet it would have been okay if I’d just used the half and half all the way around. I’ll remember that for next time I’m short on cream. : )

    Ingrid – You and Jennie are on the same page. Thanks for dragging me along too. Sometimes you need someone else to point out the obvious, I guess. : )

    Farmer Gal – If this keeps up, I don’t think I’ll have to worry about my thighs. I can only screw something up so many times before I give in and call it quits.

    Michelle

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 2, 2009 11:31 pm

    Foododelmundo – I had actually been using DL’s genius ideas and making ice cream and frozen yogurt w/o an ice cream maker. I had a lot more success doing it his way than I’ve had since I bought the darn machine! : )
    Michelle

  9. July 4, 2009 5:50 pm

    Michelle,

    I suspect the reason it got crumbly is because it broke (or curdled). There are two things that can cause this to happen. One is that the acid of the lime curdled the Half-n-Half. Heavy cream is very resistant to curdling. You can substitute Half-n-Half to a degree, but what you must do is chill the mixture well and use an immersion blender (or regular blender) to re-emulsify the mix. It may still curdle a bit, but the blending will smooth it out somewhat.

    The second thing that makes ice cream crumble is overchurning. You build up too much air and when it freezes the air pockets give it a crumbly texture. I always stop churning when I get to the texture of soft serve ice cream.

    I hope this helps!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 4, 2009 6:30 pm

    Mike – You’re awesome! Thanks for all the info. and tips. I think I’ll try again now that everyone’s offered me so much good advice.
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

