Skip to content

Fruit filled cream cheese muffins

July 3, 2009

Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffin

Oh my gosh.  These are hands-down the best muffins I’ve ever eaten.  And I even screwed them up!  Here’s what happened.

I was enjoying my usual early morning routine of checking my email and my favorite blogs before anyone wakes up.   Hmm.  Ingrid (of 3 B’s) posted the raspberry cream cheese muffins she’d made a while back.  Just the title made me sit up a little straighter.  Raspberries?  My all-time favorite food.  Cream cheese?  All together in one hand-held little package?  Oh my.

I quickly scanned the ingredients and knew I had them all and headed for the kitchen.  I have a few different kinds of preserves in the fridge from my bridezilla fiasco, and what better way to use them than a variety of cream cheese muffins?  {giggling here…that’s how big a nerd I am}

I mixed these all up in no time.  Batter was spooned in, three kinds of preserves were dolloped on top and swirled through, and off to the oven they went.  That’s about when I remembered what I’d read so quickly in Ingrid’s post.  The recipe called for the giant 1-cup capacity muffin tin.  I just have the regular size.  Oh well.  So they’ll be big, right?  I adjusted the baking time just a smidge and waited.  As it turned out, depending on the amount of preserves I tried to tuck inside, they actually got nice and tall and golden.  I was what you’d call heavy-handed on the preserves though.  Next time I’ll use a lot more restraint.  Lots of the muffins had a problem keeping their fruit filling where it belonged and left a puddle of preserves behind in the pan.  That was a bummer, but it hasn’t stopped us from devouring these.  Filling or not, they are so delicious.

I used three different fruit preserves – raspberry, blueberry, and blackberry.  My favorite one is the blackberry.  Sam’s is the blueberry.  No one else is offering up any favorites.  They are all terribly good.  I know this because I’ve had each flavor.  (I do have to sample what I bake, don’t I?  I don’t want to steer anyone wrong.)  I’m thinking I’d like to try the recipe with real fruit next time.  The base is just wonderful and I think adding fresh berries would take it over the top.

So, thank you, Ingrid!  This is definitely my go-to muffin recipe from now on.  Perfection.  (In spite of my overeager mistakes!)

Recipe:  Raspberry Cream Cheese Muffins  (And Blueberry.  And Blackberry.)

(Many thanks to Ingrid at 3 B’s for the recipe.)

1 c. + 3/4 c. all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

8 ounces cream cheese  (I used the light cream cheese.)

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature  (In case you didn’t note my impatience in the post…my eggs came straight from the fridge.)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 c. milk

1/4 c. to 1/3 c. raspberry preserves  (I made four with raspberry, four with blueberry, and four with blackberry preserves.)

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and flour a large (1-cup capacity) 12-cup muffin tin. *

Combine 1 cup flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Beat cream cheese, butter, and sugar on low speed of an electric mixer until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Mix in vanilla. Add dry ingredients, alternating with milk. Add remaining 3/4 cup flour and mix until combined.

Spoon batter into muffin cups. Top with 3 small dollops of preserves and swirl into the batter using a small knife.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a pick inserted into the center comes out clean. Do not overbake.

Makes 12 buns.*

* For regular sized muffin tins, decrease baking time by 2-3 minutes. (Ingrid made 18.  I used every drop of batter and made 12.  Go figure.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 2:24 pm

    LOL, you’re a nut! I told you in my post to go easy on the jam….I did the same thing you did. I just figured more is better. :)

    I’m so glad you liked these. I can’t wait to check out your fresh fruit ones. My kids would like those but I struggle with warm mushy fruit. It’s a texture thing.

    I didn’t say in my post but the buns, or muffins as you call them have an interesting texure. They are “creamy”. I’m not sure what to compare them to as they don’t really remind me of cake per say.

    I have the very bad habit of over filling my muffin tins so went easy adding the batter and only filled them half way.
    ~ingrid

  2. July 4, 2009 12:20 pm

    muffins must be moist in graceland (not that graceland, but my graceland), and these definitely are. they’re pretty too. and fairly easy. winner!! :)

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 5, 2009 1:06 am

    Ingrid – You’re right, I did call them muffins. I was curious why the recipe called them “buns.” They seemed more muffiny to me, but you’re right, the texture wasn’t the usual cakey muffin. More like a pound cake texture or something. They are awesome. Thanks again for sharing such a great recipe.
    Michelle

  4. sumshay permalink
    July 7, 2009 1:30 pm

    Sounds perfect. We always have fresh preserves on hand and I love finding new recipes for them. I’m sure with her love of anything fruity and full cream cheese this will be one of Summer’s favorites!

    By the way, I just found a raspberry chocolate cake recipe that I’ve fallen in LOVE with and must share with you, Michelle. The recipe, not the cake, because sadly I can’t stop eating it and probably won’t have any left till you get home again!! : )

  5. suzx0x permalink
    March 30, 2012 8:00 pm

    I don’t know why, but mine didn’t turn out at all. I tried too batches and figured I just overfilled the first one… but the second one turned out the same, all puffy but not solid.

  6. one ordinary day permalink
    March 31, 2012 7:58 am

    Suzx0x – I’m sorry the muffins didn’t work for you! I wish I could give you an answer as to why. It’s always frustrating to spend the time and the money on ingredients and not be happy with the outcome. I hope you will find another recipe on my blog that works for you!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » Fruit-Filled Cream Cheese Muffins

Leave a Reply

