Skip to content

Blueberry lemonade

July 20, 2009

Blueberry Lemonade

Are you tired of drink recipes yet?  I can’t help it.  We’ve been making a couple things every week.   I even tried pureeing a cantaloupe to see what kind of cold drink I could make.  (Note to self:  don’t make a drink out of a fruit I don’t totally love.)  And Jim makes a real tasty limonade, so dubbed by Claudia, which is an perfect mix of lemon and lime.

Anyway – this tasted really good but was a mess to make.  I have to tell ya that Jim did all the work.  He was going to do the lemons and I was in charge of the blueberries… but then Dani called and, you know… she is my sister and everything… so Jim ended up making the whole lemonade.  So much for spending time together in the kitchen.  He didn’t enjoy pressing all the blueberry puree through the strainer ~ he called it annoying ~ but we only have a small-holed sieve so it took a while.   I don’t think he felt it was worth the effort, so I doubt we’d he’d make it again anytime soon.

Recipe:  Blueberry Lemonade

(adapted from a Bobby Flay recipe)

3 c. blueberries

3/4 c. sugar

1 c. freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 c. cold water

Place the blueberries and sugar in a blender and puree.  Place the lemon juice and water in a pitcher and strain the pureed blueberries through a sieve into the pitcher.  Stir well and pour into tall ice-filled glasses.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 1:20 am

    SO refreshing!

  2. Forrester McLeod permalink
    July 20, 2009 6:21 am

    I’m full-on head over heels in love without even reading the recipe!!! I’m diving in later, for sure. Thank You!

  3. Hemet Neter permalink
    July 20, 2009 6:35 am

    You’ll have to juice cantelope (I do like melon and it is delicious juiced!). I’ll try the blueberry lemonade. Right now, I’m enjoying a lemonade that is modified from one provided by a local naturopathic physician. I squeeze half and lemon and a lime into a 20 oz glass with a little water, then add Lebanese pomegranate molasses (I guess any fruit syrup will do), and fill with ice and water to the top and stir. Yummy and anitoxidants!

  4. July 20, 2009 6:45 am

    this looks so good, what does C. mean though

  5. July 20, 2009 6:55 am

    This sounds great for a hot afternoon!

  6. marycooke permalink
    July 20, 2009 7:59 am

    c = cup

  7. July 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    That looked so yummy I just had to say something. I’m going to have to try that one. Thanks for sharing:)

  8. foododelmundo permalink
    July 20, 2009 1:57 pm

    At least your husband is a willing participant – mine doesn’t even read the blog. It’s solo goin’s for me right along with all the dirty dishes. Glad it’s a labor of LOVE!

  9. July 21, 2009 1:40 am

    Yum! I’ll have to try that today. It’s a perfect day for a glass of homemade lemonade on the deck.

  10. July 21, 2009 8:05 am

    Straining the blueberries could take a little time, but this sounds really delicious! It’s a pretty color too.

  11. July 21, 2009 3:24 pm

    Great twist on the lemonade. I can see how blueberries could be the gateway fruit to trying other additions.

  12. July 21, 2009 10:45 pm

    I just bought a small punnet of blueberries, and now wish I had more! Refreshing twist on lemonade :)

  13. July 22, 2009 3:43 am

    Ha! How perfectly timed was that call from your sis?! I need to try making some of your drinks for my children. They are seriously stuck on Ocean Spray’s CranGrape and tropical smoothies.
    ~ingrid

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:19 am

    Oh my gosh, I’m sorry to not reply to all of you individually, but there are so many comments! LOL I’m so happy by all your nice remarks and I hope you give it a try. If you do, please come back and let me know.
    ~Michelle

  15. Dani Lawton permalink
    July 24, 2010 2:12 pm

    After a wonderful evening of picking blueberries with the kids, we came home with over 25 pounds of berries and needed something to make with all of them.

    I knew my sister would have some delicious recipes and was not disappointed when I found this one. I used my Magic Bullet to blend up the berries and it was very easy.

    It was delightful and I cannot wait for Matt and the kids to get home and try it!!!

    Thanks Shell!!!

Leave a Reply

