Skip to content

Potato chip brownies

July 24, 2009

Potato Chip Brownies

Bea’s daughter, Evie, is enjoying her annual vacation with us, and she and I have been pouring over recipes and food blogs looking for fun and tasty sounding treats to make.  She spotted this one and we decided to give it a try.

I gotta say right from the get-go that I wasn’t a big fan, though it is a clever idea.  Combine salty potato chips with chocolatey brownies?  Hmmm.  Definitely some potential there, right?  While the brownie part was yummy, the texture of the chips was a bit odd.  (We used a ruffled chip from Target.)  I’m sure if you played around a bit and found the perfect chip to use here, you might have success.  Personally, I don’t plan to try again.  I did love the occasional salty flavor, but I’d much, much prefer my favorite stand-by, salted fudge brownies.

I feel weird telling you where I found the recipe, since I didn’t like it.  In spite of my taste preferences on this one, I actually have been enjoying the blog I found it at.  I’ve got my eye on another one of her recipes so I’ll be checking out Bakin’ Bits again.  (And if you’re reading this, please, please, please take no offense!!)

Recipe:  Potato Chip Brownies

1 c. flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 c. butter

2 squares unsweetened chocolate

2 eggs

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3/4 c. crushed potato chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat eggs, then gradually add sugar until combined.  In a separate bowl, mix flour, salt, and baking powder.

Using a double boiler, melt chocolate squares.  When squares have melted, mix in butter until melted.  Add chocolate to egg mixture.  Stir in vanilla.  Blend well.  Gradually add flour mixture to chocolate mixture and blend.  Fold in crushed potato chips.

Pour into greased 8 inch square baking pan.  Bake for 30 minutes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 3:05 am

    Like you I feel bad when something doesn’t wow me but of course that’s not to say that it wouldn’t someone else. Don’t feel bad. :) I still love ya!
    ~ingrid

  2. July 24, 2009 5:11 am

    the salt-chocolate combination is usually so good, i’m sorry this was disappointing! i hate when things don’t live up to their potential.

  3. July 27, 2009 6:38 am

    I’ve made Ruffles potato chips chocolate cookies before and really loved them. Maybe the soft texture of a brownie compared to the crunch of a chip was too different? I’ll have to look for a good recipe now, I’ve never made them myself.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:11 am

    Ingrid – Thanks. : )

    Grace – I do love the chocolate/salt combo. and I thought Evie was onto something when she came across this one. Just not for me though.

    Diana – Maybe you’re right and it’s a texture thing. Now you’ve got me intrigued by the cookie idea.

    ~Michelle

  5. August 4, 2009 3:44 pm

    have you ever tried bacon in your brownies? i saw it on some blog recently, they put some very thinly sliced bacon on the top. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

