Skip to content

Frozen key lime pie on a stick. And if that’s not enough… frozen pumpkin pie on a stick, too!

August 3, 2009

Frozen Key Lime Pie on a Stick

I’ve been wanting to try frozen key lime pie dipped in chocolate for quite a while, and Dani has been raving about her local ice cream shop’s frozen pumpkin pie on a stick.  Yes, pumpkin pie.  Dipped in chocolate, no less.  I figured I’d try them both and see how they turned out.

I could have made everything from scratch, but I didn’t want to spend a ton of time and money here, since I didn’t really know how we’d like them in the end.  Instead I took a lot of help from the baking aisle.

I bought some premade mini graham cracker crusts, a can of key lime pie filling, and a can of pumpkin pie filling.  The key lime pie was a snap since all I had to do was spoon the filling into the crusts and pop them straight into the freezer.  The pumpkin pie had to be mixed up and baked; then cooled and frozen.  Still not a big deal.  I baked the little pies at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes, then cooled them before freezing them.  I spooned the remaining pumpkin pie mix into ramekins for the kids and they were all gone by bedtime.

You will notice on the pumpkin pie can that it says not to freeze your cooked pie because the filling will separate from the crust.  Well, that actually did happen (you can see it in the bottom photo), but it didn’t change the flavor one bit.

Frozen Pumpkin Pie on a Stick

Before I put the pies in the freezer, I used a sharp knife to make a small slit in the side of each aluminum pan, then I inserted a popsicle stick.  After a few hours, they were all frozen and I could remove the aluminum pans.  That was very easy too.  I made a small snip with my kitchen shears at the top of each pan’s rim, then the aluminum just peels right off.

For dipping, I used a package of almond bark and melted it in the microwave.  One package covered 12 mini pies.  I’ve never used almond bark before, but I’m a huge fan now.  I’ve always used Wilton’s candy melts and I’ve consistently had trouble with everything I try to dip.  I didn’t have a single problem with this almond bark.  I added 1 Tbsp. of oil to it after it was melted and it stayed smooth and creamy the whole time.  Loved it.

So if you’re looking for something fun and unusual for dessert this summer, I can highly recommend these little frozen pies.  They are both so good that I really can’t choose a favorite!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 12:50 pm

    I’ve never heard or seen either one. Both sound pretty good and not too hard.

    Did the kids like ’em? I’m not certain if mine would or not. They they didn’t care for my key lime ice cream yet they eat key lime pie. Pains! Maybe I shouldn’t have added that extra splash of key lime juice. :)
    ~ingrid

  2. Dani permalink
    August 3, 2009 1:59 pm

    I can honestly say that my 8 year old daughter thingks the pumpkin pie is the greatest snack in the world. She loves when the tasty freeze has them. I cannot wait to tell Ed that you made them.

  3. August 3, 2009 2:34 pm

    This is a great idea. I can see how maybe this could be carried out into lots of possibilities. Frozen cheesecake on a stick, frozen cherry pie on a stick… banana cream pie on a stick… ohhhh, yeahhhh.

  4. August 4, 2009 2:16 am

    it does seem that pie on a stick is the new thing, but by dipping it in chocolate you’ve taken it to the next level! i can’t call myself a lover of pumpkin pie, but the key lime version sounds stellar!

  5. August 4, 2009 3:27 am

    Oh my goodness, these look heavenly!

  6. August 5, 2009 4:37 am

    What a fun idea. The Key Lime in particular sounds so appealing. Actually the possibilities are enormous. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. August 5, 2009 5:50 am

    You’re quiet! You good? I’m lovin’ the book. I know you said don’t pay attention to the dates but its tough not to go back to see who’s talking and when the event is taking place which means it’s taking me longer to read than normal. Unfortunately football/cheerleading started last Saturday and it’s EVERY day, two and a half hours so no reading going on. I’ve been sprinting between Babygirl’s and Devon’s practices. Complete opposite ends of the facility.
    ~ingrid

Leave a Reply

