Skip to content

Peach pie

August 8, 2009
tags: ,

Peach Pie

My mom taught me how to make pie dough and I’ve always done it the way she showed me.  It’s super flaky and, I think, delicious.  We’ve used only shortening in our dough, but now I’ve learned that by combining butter and shortening, I can get all the flakiness of my mom’s crust with all the wonderful taste of a butter crust.  Go figure.  Why hadn’t we thought of that before?

I’ve been reading Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan and it’s my new favorite cookbook.  I’m learning so much about ingredients and baking.   She says that if you could only have one pie dough in your repertoire, it should be this one.  I definitely have to agree.  This is hands-down the best pie crust I’ve ever eaten.  So tender and flaky and delicious.  It just has the best of everything.  Jim and I are in pie heaven.

Would you just look at that crust?  {sigh}  I’m really wishing my mom was here to try some.  See all those bits that almost looks like pepper on top?  It’s freshly ground cinnamon from the McCormick cinnamon grinder I found when I was grocery shopping the other day.  I love it because a.) it gives you these specks of cinnamon instead of the usual powder, b.) it releases this wonderful aroma every time you twist the cap, and c.) it’s kinda fun.  Yum.

So now that we’ve got the crust figured out, onto the peaches.  I used a combination of yellow and white peaches.  The pie isn’t as thick as I would normally have made, but I didn’t want to run back over to the farm stand for more peaches, so I just used what I had.

Since the dough recipe made enough for two double-crust pies, I also baked a blackberry pie, but I’ll show you that one another time.

Recipe:  Peach Pie

(from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook)

pastry for two 9″ pie crusts  (recipe follows)

5 c. sliced and peeled peaches

1 c. sugar

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 tsp. lemon juice

2 Tbsp. butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Prepare pastry and lay bottom crust in pie plate.  Mix sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Stir in peaches and lemon juice.  Turn into pie plate.  Dot with butter.  Cover with top crust that has slits cut into it; seal and flute edges.

Bake until crust is golden, about 35-45 minutes.

Recipe:  Pie Dough

(from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan)

~yields enough dough for two double-crust pies

5 1/4 c. pastry flour or all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp. kosher salt

1 1/2 sticks (6 ounces) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1 3/4 c. solid vegetable shortening (11 ounces), chilled

1 c. ice cold water

(I made my dough in my kitchen aid mixer, but you can also do this by hand or in a food processor.)

Fix mixer with paddle attachment (or use a pastry blender).  Put flour and salt in bowl and mix.  Add butter and mix on low until it is cut into dry ingredients and the mixture looks coarse and crumbly.  Add shortening in small bits and continue to mix on low.  When the mixture holds together when a small bit is pressed between your fingers, add the water and mix only until it is incorporated.  Turn the dough out onto a work surface and fold it over on itself two or three times, just to finish the mixing and to gather it together.

Divide the dough into four equal balls and flatten into thick discs.  Wrap dough discs in plastic and refrigerate for 2 hours or as long as 5 days.  When dough is thoroughly firm and chilled, roll for pie crusts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2009 12:49 pm

    Yummy!!!! I just made this crust for a tart last week and it was wonderful!!! Did you know there is a group baking through this book together? (beautybakers.blogspot.com) I joined so I’d finally make a different kind of bread than the Challah, I was making it every week or so! (but seriously, you must make the Challah, it’s amazing!!!)

    Anyway, your pie looks just perfect and you’ve got me thinking about a cinnamon grinder! Love those dark flecks!

  2. August 8, 2009 2:04 pm

    I want blackberry pie!! I want blackberry pie! No seriously you peach pie looks perfect. You did a fantastic job on the crust. I’ve not made a pie before just because the crust scares me.

    Hey, thanks for the heads up on the cinnamon spice grinder. I’m gonna see if I can find one.
    ~ingrid

  3. August 9, 2009 3:46 am

    I, too, go to that book often and have made this pie crust many times. Every recipe I’ve made out of the book has been a top notch.
    Right now it’s breakfast time ’round here. What I wouldn’t give for a slice of that peach pie. Man, does it look good.

  4. August 10, 2009 1:59 am

    Delicious!!! I have tons and tons of frozen peaches from my trip to the peach groves in MI last summer and even though I went through about half of them already, I still have a good 15 lbs of peaches left! I’m thinking maybe a nice peach pie is in order!!! Maybe even w/ some raspberries mixed in… mmm….

  5. August 10, 2009 2:32 am

    i so need a new pie crust recipe! thanks!

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:36 pm

    Jennie – Thanks for the heads-up. I’ll have to look into that.

    Ingrid – Pie crusts really aren’t as scary as you think. You can do it… I read your blog and I know all the great things you bake!

    Irina – Pie for breakfast works for me too! : )

    Niki Theo – Wow. That’s a lot of peaches! Stay tuned for my french toast recipe…. I topped that with peaches too.

    AmberLee – This is such a great crust and way easier to work with than what I’ve always used before.

    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

