Skip to content

Blackberry pie

August 9, 2009

Blackberry Pie

If you asked me to name my favorite pie I would definitely, beyond a shadow of a doubt, tell you it’s blackberry pie.  There is nothing on the planet that takes me back to being a kid the way blackberry pie does.  (My mom’s cream cheese brownies would come in second.)

When we were kids, we’d go to camp with our grandpa for all kinds of things, from snowmobiling to chicken barbecues.   We tapped maple trees, four-wheeled, and built lean-tos in the woods from fallen branches.  We also had to use an outhouse when we were there, but I won’t get into that.   But, by far my favorite thing to do at camp was pick blackberries.  I remember a crazy amount of blackberry bushes, all bigger than we were.  Grandpa and Grandma would give us old coffee cans that he’d turned into buckets to pick with, and Grandpa always looped his through his belt so he could pick with two hands.  Smart man.

Eating those berries warm from the sun is heavenly, and we probably ate as many as we picked.  I made this pie with frozen blackberries cause I don’t have access to blackberry bushes anymore, but it still takes me right back there to the top of that mountain, surrounded by all those trees and the field and the blackberry bushes.  Life is good.

Recipe:  Blackberry Pie

(from my mom’s recipe box)

pie dough for a double layer pie  (recipe here)

5 c. fresh blackberries (or 2 bags frozen blackberries)

1 c. sugar

2 Tbsp. flour  (Even though the recipe calls for less, you’ll probably want to use 1/4 c. of flour to help with all the juices.)

2 Tbsp. lemon juice

1/8 tsp. salt

1 Tbsp. butter or margarine

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Roll bottom pie crust and place in pie dish.  In a large bowl, combine berries and lemon juice; add sugar, flour, and salt.  Toss to mix.  Pour berry mixture into pie dish and add dots of butter.  Place top crust with slits over pie; seal and crimp edges.  Brush with a little milk or egg wash and sprinkle lightly with sugar.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake an additional 25-30 minutes or until berries are tender and crust is nicely golden.  Cool completely before slicing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 10:12 am

    YUM! I want a piece! Are you sure you don’t want to just give your life up to come and be my personal, unpaid baker chef? And the thing is I’m not even one to go ga-ga over cakes and stuff, but this looks SO GOOD.
    Now how am I going to get it out of my head?

  2. Stephanie permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:21 am

    I just discovered this blog and wanted to thank you. It’s FANTASTIC and everything looks so delicious!
    Thanks.

  3. August 9, 2009 3:36 pm

    This looks absolutely fabulous…I need to bake more pies! :)

  4. August 9, 2009 3:46 pm

    Oh, man! That looks fantastic! I was just working on another post, blackberries and thinking how I’d like some more. I’ve changed my mind and want your blackberry pie! It looks just so, so good!

    It’s crazy! I don’t remember blackberries being that good. I mean I ate ’em and liked ’em but geesh, I just can’t seem to get enough.

    Btw, good call on the blue background. It really makes the pie pop. :)
    ~ingrid

  5. shaunmcgowan permalink
    August 9, 2009 9:10 pm

    I was searching on the net for a recipe…. and I found this website, not sure how or what I did to get here but Im sure glad I did – bookmarked. This is really yummy!!!

  6. August 10, 2009 2:26 am

    This looks amazing! My dads favorite is blackberry too…I just might have to make this for him! Love your picture!

  7. August 10, 2009 3:57 am

    you’re a pie-making machine! although the peach pie is glorious, this is the one i’d make a beeline for. i love that it takes you back to your childhood—those are the best foods. bravo!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:32 pm

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I might just take you up on that offer. I think Jamaica is a fair trade for the unpaid part, right? LOL

    Stephanie – Thank you so much!!

    Jamie – I need to bake more pies too. I forget how much I love them in between pies.

    Ingrid – I wish I could get my hands on some fresh blackberries. That would really make my day.

    Shaun – I don’t know how you got here from there either, but I’m glad you did. Hope you stick around!

    Krystle – Blackberry was one of my dad’s faves too. Thanks for the compliments on the photo!

    Grace – LOL Not a pie-making machine, exactly. It was kind of handy that the pie dough made enough for two pies, then I didn’t have any excuses not to just bake two.

    ~Michelle

  9. August 27, 2009 10:57 am

    That looks so good! Maybe i should re think what i’m going to bake today with my blackberries… although my pie crust never turns out!! it’s always too hard no matter what i try!

  10. November 26, 2009 2:01 pm

    Hello! I found your recipe on PW’s Tasty Kitchen and made it today for Thanksgiving and I must say I was disappointed. I followed the instructions, using frozen blackberries that I had picked this summer. It cooled for 3 1/2 hours. It was fine til I went to transport it to our friends house and all this liquid came out of it! Then when we cut into it, it had not gelled at all. I thought the 1/4 c. flour would have helped with that. Any suggestions for the next try? Because it was tasty, runniness and all.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 27, 2009 1:34 am

    Sandy – I’m sorry it was so runny for you!!! Sometimes with frozen berries you really do need to up the flour amount. Even with a lot of flour, depending on how juicy your berries are it is likely to be runnier than firmer fruit pies would be. I’m glad it was still tasty at least! I’ll go leave a note on TK now too. I’ve never had a blackberry pie that wasn’t juicy though. We like to eat them cold from the fridge and that helps it hold together a bit more. Think you’ll try it again?
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

