Skip to content

Mascarpone stuffed french toast with peaches and nectarines

August 12, 2009

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches and Nectarines

I found myself with a few white peaches and nectarines over the weekend, along with a loaf of French bread in the freezer and a container of mascarpone cheese in the fridge.  Imagine my luck when I came across this recipe at allrecipes.com.

I made this for brunch on Sunday and we absolutely loved it.  The mascarpone has a lovely lemon flavor and the peaches and nectarines are cooked into a nice syrup with nutmeg and cinnamon.  The kitchen smelled wonderful and it was just plain yummy all the way around.

Recipe:  Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches and Nectarines

(adapted slightly from allrecipes.com)

8 fresh peaches  (I used a combination of fresh peaches and nectarines, but I think frozen peaches would work just fine too.)

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. ground nutmet

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 loaf of French bread

1 c. mascarpone cheese

6 Tbsp. confectioner’s sugar

1 lemon, zested

6 eggs

3/4 c. milk (any fat content)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. butter, or more as needed

Peel peaches, remove pits, and slice peaches into a heavy saucepan.  Be sure to catch all the juices.  Stir in granulated sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon; cook over medium heat until bubbly.  Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until the sauce reaches a syrupy consistency, about 10 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, slice the loaf of bread on the diagonal into 1 1/4- 1 1/2 inch slices.  Lay each slice of bread on the board, and with a sharp knife held parallel to the board, cut a pocket into each slice, leaving three sides intact.  Set aside.

Stir together the mascarpone cheese, confectioner’s sugar, and lemon zest until smooth and creamy.  Carefully spread some filling into each pocket of bread.  Fill as much as you like, but do not let the filling overflow from the bread.

Whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla in a shallow bowl.  (A glass baking dish works very well.)  Lay the stuffed bread slices into the egg mixture.  Turn over to coat both sides of bread with egg mixture.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add bread to skillet and cook until browned on both sides.  Serve hot with warm peach sauce and a dusting of confectioner’s sugar.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 3:14 pm

    SOOO, you and mascarpone are buddies now? LOL! This sounds great and looks even better! I also like that it isn’t a baked french toast. The last one I made didn’t go over so well. Your two were okay without their chocolate chip pancakes? Mine baulk at anything other than pancakes on Sunday. We can add to the menu but there must be pancakes.
    ~ingrid

  2. August 12, 2009 11:01 pm

    What a heavenly brunch this makes! The flavors sound really great :)

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:39 pm

    Ingrid – LOL Actually, my kids DID have their goofy pancakes and Jim, Lauren, and I enjoyed my awesome breakfast without them! : )

    ~Michelle

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 13, 2009 12:20 am

    ovenhaven – Thank you…. It was kind of like dessert and breakfast all in one.

    ~Michelle

  5. August 13, 2009 2:35 am

    Now that is one decadent breakfast treat!! A once in a while one for me. French toast is our fave, but I usually do the normal thing w/ it. My family would love me for this one!

  6. August 13, 2009 5:06 am

    french toast is good. period. cheese-stuffed french toast? better. toss some glorious fruit on top? that’s my kind of breakfast. :)

  7. August 13, 2009 8:01 am

    Good grief! I am 100% tempted by this. I can’t stop looking at the photo. Maybe this weekend…

  8. August 14, 2009 7:12 am

    I think using Nutella was a brilliant move for this recipe. Brilliant!

  9. August 14, 2009 7:13 am

    Whoops – My comment was intended for the thumbprint cookie post! :)

  10. August 20, 2009 4:58 pm

    You had me at ‘marscarpone’. I am SO making this! YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

