Skip to content

Nutella thumbprint cookies

August 13, 2009

Nutella Thumbprint Cookies

Claudia and I decided to bake these cookies the other day.  It’s a really kid-friendly recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I knew the jam version wouldn’t be too much of a hit around here, so we opted to fill some of ours with Nutella and some with semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Instead of writing out the recipe, I’m going to direct you here, where you can actually see the page from the cookbook.  But I will tell you what we did differently.  We used creamy peanut butter in the cookies, and instead of rolling them in an egg wash and crushed peanuts, we rolled them in sugar.  We followed the tips Dorie provided for using chocolate chips, but while 3 chips filled up Claudia’s little thumbprint before baking, the cookies looked rather ridiculous coming out of the oven.  We ended up piling on a few more chocolate chips and letting them melt, then spreading the chocolate around a little.  That was the first batch.  Since I wasn’t all that impressed with the results, we decided to bake empty thumbprint cookies in the next batch, then fill them with Nutella.  I figured if I was gonna be spreading chocolate around, it may as well be Nutella, right?  My “baggie-turned-pastry bag” didn’t work all that well, so I ended up spreading it around with a knife instead.

These cookies do taste quite nice ~ kind of peanut butter and shortbread combined, with a little kick of chocolate or Nutella.  They’ve definitely been a huge hit with the kids.  Would I make them again?  I’m really not sure.  I’d like to have the chocolate look all smooth and pretty, so unless I could figure out how to accomplish that, I probably wouldn’t bake these again anytime soon.  Anyone have any suggestions?  Should I have put the Nutella on before baking them?  Another thing to note is that the baking time in the cookbook was way off for me.  My cookies were done in 8 minutes, instead of 15.

Please let me know if you have any tips or suggestions.  Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 1:21 am

    Hmmm yummy. I love how you find so many uses for nutella. I have no clue as to tips. I just want to eat them.

  2. August 14, 2009 3:43 am

    No, tips from me either. From your photo they look fine…good! I just read your comment on Grace’s blog about not being thrilled with Dorie’s book. This just kinda confirms it, huh?!

    Happy Friday! Oh, yeah, I gotta email ya question.
    ~ingrid

  3. August 14, 2009 4:03 am

    I often avoid thumbprint cookies because I’m not much for fruity centers in my cookies, but with Nutella, well, that’s another story all together. These sound quite tasty and worthwhile. And your photo is enticing.

  4. August 14, 2009 5:14 am

    i love thumbprint cookies–the varieties are endless! nutella usage has never occurred to me, so bless your heart for sharing the idea–it’s brilliant!

Leave a Reply

