Skip to content

Fear and frustration

August 15, 2009

I know this blog is typically pretty light-hearted, but sometimes something will strike a chord with me and I can’t ignore it.  In this case it’s healthcare reform.  We live in the most privileged country in the world, but nearly 87 million people have been uninsured at some time over the past two years.  (CNN)  More people are losing their coverage every day.  Why would we stand by and not help our neighbors if we could?  This is so long overdue.  When did we become a country where the people only look out for themselves?  It makes me sad.

This video is 1 minute long.  I hope you take the time to watch it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. foododelmundo permalink
    August 15, 2009 12:25 pm

    Great point.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Memoria permalink
    August 15, 2009 4:18 pm

    We became a country where the people only look out for themselves when the English settlers arrived. It’s been going on for a very, very long time.

  3. August 16, 2009 7:53 am

    Thanks for sharing! I just don’t know what people are thinking sometimes.

    I guess what I’m making? Yum,yum! Can’t wait to churn it tonight!
    ~ingrid

  4. August 20, 2009 8:17 pm

    Nice post! I totally agree. You know when I lived in America I had to pay over $100 a month for an insurance plan with a $5k deductable without dental coverage. Now in Holland, I pay about the same rate for a plan with only a €150 deductable, including dental. Crazy! Plus, it’s required by law for people to carry health insurance here. That’s not so much a problem though because it’s actually affordable.

Leave a Reply

