Skip to content

Chocolate pretzel bars

August 26, 2009

My kids are back in school and I think I’m handling my baby starting kindergarten pretty well.  No tears from either of us, and Sam was pretty sweet to her at the bus stop this morning.  I think I’ll get used to the quiet and I might start having long conversations with the cats, but otherwise I reckon I’ll be okay after a couple days.  I did treat myself to a Starbucks this morning and spent several hours organizing and rearranging my cupboards, but hey.  I really will get used to this, right?

I figured today would be a good day to post a “kids in the kitchen” sort of recipe.  The kids and I made a batch of these chocolate pretzel bars the other day.  It’s a good kid-friendly recipe with a lot of things for them to help with.

It turned out okay, but I’m thinking maybe I ought to have learned from the potato chip brownies to just add a sprinkling of sea salt to the recipe, instead of trying to get my salt/chocolate fix by putting snack foods in my baked goods.  The texture that they takes on is just not appealing to me.  The chips and the pretzels both ended up tasting pretty much the same, though the base of this one is much tastier than the potato chip brownies.

Recipe:  Chocolate Pretzel Bars

(from Food and Wine)

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 c. light brown sugar, packed

1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

12 – ounce bag of bittersweet chocolate chips  (We used dark chocolate candy bars that the kids chopped up.)

1 1/2 c. pretzels, broken into small pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9×13″ baking pan with foil, allowing overhang on the ends.  In a bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and salt.  In another bowl, using a mixer, beat the butter with both sugars at medium speed until light.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  At low speed, beat in dry ingredients.  Stir in chips and pretzels.

Spread batter in pan.  Bake for 30 minutes or until golden; the center should still be a little gooey.  Transfer to a rack and let cool completely.  Lift bars out of pan with foil.  Cut into 24 squares.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 5:54 am

    Perhaps, soon, you’ll find ways to enjoy the time to yourself. Maybe there can be even more baking. :)
    I love unusual recipes and this one fits the bill. Too bad you weren’t crazy about it. Still, the concept of salty foods in brownies has lodged into my brain.

  2. August 27, 2009 1:18 am

    well dang! i’m sorry they turned out to be less-than-amazing, but it was definitely a recipe worth trying! it seems like i always have a bag half full of broken and beaten and crumbly pretzels looking for a home. :)

  3. August 27, 2009 3:03 am

    Ha, as soon as I saw this I thought about your potato chip one and wondered if it was better. So you think it’s a keeper with the sea salt tweak? I’ve wanted to try these but have been a bit leery. Maria blogged about a similar recipe and she really liked it. I’ll have to compare this one to hers.

    My guys went back to school this Monday! I’m so pleased with them. We’ve had no issues with getting up, getting ready, or going to bed! YAY!!! I’m keeping my fingers crossed. :) Glad to hear things are good with your two especially with Claudia!
    ~ingrid

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 27, 2009 3:29 am

    Ingrid – If I made these again, I’d leave out the pretzels entirely and maybe stick some m&ms or something in it for the kids instead. I would have enjoyed them w/o the pretzels and with some sea salt on top though.
    ~Michelle

  5. August 28, 2009 5:47 am

    The week my baby started all day school, the Moms with older kids took me to a matinee. Just to let me know that there is other life on the planet, besides five year olds. It was such a treat to go some place and not have to be home before 11:30. It opened up a whole new world, I actually took golf lessons. You can play 18 holes between 9AM and 2 PM

Leave a Reply

