Skip to content

Blackberry pudding

August 27, 2009

Blackberry Pudding with Whipped Cream

While the name might sound a little weird, this dessert can turn you into a big fan in a hurry.  First of all, it’s so easy to make!  Mix up a little batter, drop some berries all over it, then top it with sugar and boiling water.  Granted, it looks like it’s never gonna turn into anything you’d want to eat, but give it a little baking time and it’s gonna knock your socks off.

I suspect this would be delicious using any kind of berries, and I’d like to try it with blueberries next.  When I make it again, I’m going to really pile in the berries… I’d probably double them, actually.  This was incredibly juicy, but after cooling off and some time in the fridge, the juice turned into this thick pudding mixture.  It was mighty yummy.

Recipe:  Blackberry Pudding

1 1/2 – 2 c. granulated sugar, divided ~ depending on the sweetness of your berries, you can use more or less sugar

1/3 c. unsalted butter, softened slightly

2 c. all-purpose flour, sifted

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 c. milk

2 c. blackberries, fresh or frozen

2 c. boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream 1 cup of sugar with the butter until fluffy.  Add the flour, baking powder, salt, and milk; mix well.  Pour into a glass baking dish.  (I used a deep 1 1/2 quart casserole dish.)  Pour blackberries on top of batter.  Boil 2 cups of water.  Add 1 cup of sugar to boiling water and pour over berries.  Bake approximately 50 minutes or until top is golden brown.  Allow to cool.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 2:32 am

    Your right the name does sound good but that picture makes you want to dive right in!

  2. August 27, 2009 2:48 am

    Where have I been? I almost missed these last few posts!

    Oh, I’m ALL over this one! (I seriously have two maybe three recipes of yours to blog about. Hopefully sometime this year! :)) I’ll take your advice and load up on the berries, BLACKberries.

    Happy Friday’s Eve!!
    ~ingrid

  3. August 27, 2009 8:01 am

    ha–i didn’t even glance at the name, i was immediately distracted by the tender lusciousness in the picture! it looks like the perfect summer dessert to me, all the way down to the plop of cream. :)

  4. August 27, 2009 8:03 am

    Yum! I love blackberries! This looks delish!

  5. Linda permalink
    August 27, 2009 8:23 am

    this looks great! I can’t wait to try it as I only have one recipe that I like for blackberries and 8 cups of frozen blackberries in my freezer. as a matter of fact I will be making this tonight!! Thanks for the post.

  6. August 27, 2009 10:16 am

    This looks so stunning and so simple! I have a ton of blueberries to use. Great post! I like your blog.

  7. August 28, 2009 7:05 am

    Mmmm! I think I will go blackberry picking this afternoon. Then I think I’ll try this recipe.

  8. spontaneoustruth permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:28 am

    I’m not always a big pudding fan but that photo makes me drool enough to want to try it! Time to get some blackberries mmm.

  9. August 29, 2009 9:08 pm

    This pudding looks awesome!

  10. August 30, 2009 4:17 am

    that’s the perfect comfort dessert…with some vanilla ice cream…mmmm

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:37 am

    Thank you, everybody! Your comments are all so nice!!
    ~Michelle

  12. August 8, 2011 2:26 am

    just wanted to say thankyou so much for this recipe. i tried it yesterday and it was absolutely incredible. thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 8, 2011 5:04 pm

    Amy – Thanks for the kind comment about the blackberry pudding! I’m glad you enjoyed it and I hope you can find other recipes or ideas here that you like too. : )
    ~ Michelle

  14. Amy Merriam permalink
    July 10, 2013 12:24 pm

    I made this for my mother’s 80th birthday last week. I made it because she and her cousins used to have this when they were growing up…made from fresh “wild” blackberries that they had picked that day. This recipe was a little different than the one they were used to..but it looked really good to me! Well…it was a HUGE hit!! I got more compliments on this than any other “cake” I have ever made…and I have made a LOT!! I am about to make another one…for myself…..but with fresh blueberries this time. I’ll try to remember to come back here and let you know how it turned out.

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 22, 2013 9:25 am

    Amy, thank you for the comment! I love hearing stories behind why we bake and I hope your mom enjoyed the blackberry pudding, even if it wasn’t exactly like her childhood memory. :)
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

