Skip to content

Blackberry pie bars

September 7, 2009

Blackberry Pie Bars

Before blackberry picking season passes us by, I had to share one last blackberry recipe with you.  Remember those gallons of berries we picked?  This is another dessert I made with them.

I’m gonna say what everyone else says when they make these.  I have no idea why they’re called blackberry pie bars, because they really don’t taste like pie at all.  I kind of thought they tasted more like a cookie bar.  They were wonderful and it’s kind of nice to know I have so many go-to blackberry recipes now.  I love the idea that I can bake this in the middle of winter if I want to.

This was made in a 9×13″ baking pan, but I’d like to try it on a jelly roll pan next time.  Each piece was very thick and needed a plate and fork, but I might like them even better as a grab ‘n go bar.  Either way, they were tasty and a great way to showcase those gorgeous blackberries.

Recipe:  Blackberry Pie Bars

(from The Pastry Queen: Royally Good Recipes from the Texas Hill Country’s Rather Sweet Bakery & Cafe)

Crust and Topping:

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/2 c. unsalted butter, chilled

Fruit Filling:

4 large eggs

2 c. granulated sugar

1 c. sour cream

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

pinch of salt

6 c. fresh blackberries or 2 16-oz. bags of frozen blackberries, defrosted and drained

Prepare crust and topping. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13″ baking pan with butter or cooking spray.  Combine flour, sugar, and salt in a food processor fitted with a metal blade; process until combined, about 45 seconds.  Cut butter into 1/2″ pieces.  Process butter with the flour mixture for 30-60 seconds, until butter is evenly distributed but mixture is still crumbly.  (If you don’t have a food processor, you can do this with an electric mixer too.)

Reserve 1 1/2 c. of the crust mixture to use as a topping.  Press the remaining mixture into bottom of pan.  Bake crust for 12-15 minutes until golden brown.  Cool for at least 10 minutes.

Make filling. Whisk eggs in a large bowl, then add sugar, sour cream, flour, and salt.  Gently fold in blackberries.

When crust has cooled at least 10 minutes, spoon fruit filling evenly over crust.  Sprinkle reserved crust mixture over filling.  Bake for 45-55 minutes, until top is lightly browned.  Cool at least 1 hour before cutting into bars.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 2:10 am

    Awesome recipe to use up the last of the blackberries this season!

  2. September 7, 2009 3:27 am

    Those look so good. I love blackberries!

  3. September 7, 2009 3:27 am

    These are great. When I made them I cut back on the amount of flour in the filling, which made them more pie like.

    PS. The Chocolate Root Beer cake looks great. Can wait to try it.

  4. September 7, 2009 5:05 am

    Okay, quick…..which one should I make your blackberry pudding cake or these blackberry pie bars? I’m baking these evening….lemme know! :)

    Needless to say these look awesome and I want to try ’em. If you think this should be the one to try I’m going to cut the recipe in half as I don’t think I have enough blackberries. (whadaya think 8×8 or 9×9?)

    Happy Labor Day, Michelle! Hope you and your family have a GREAT one!
    ~ingrid

  5. September 7, 2009 10:17 pm

    if i want blackberry pie, i’ll have blackberry pie. if i want a blackberry goodie that i can pick up and handily shove into my face, i believe this recipe looks like a winner! gorgeous shot. :)

  6. September 8, 2009 3:35 am

    Oh wow…these look divine! Maybe with a scoop of ice cream??

Leave a Reply

