Skip to content

Edamame hummus

September 14, 2009

Edamame Hummus

I’ve been hooked on hummus ever since finding this recipe, and I make it every couple weeks.  Just for me.  No one else likes it, so it lasts me about a week each time.  I love having it in the fridge for a quick lunch or snack.  When I saw this edamame hummus recipe in Ellie Krieger’s cookbook, I had to try it.  I cook edamame pretty often because Jim and I really like it, so I usually have a bag in the freezer.  The tofu was new to me though.  I’ve never even tried it before, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  It turned out well, but it strikes me as more of a vegetable dip ~ maybe with some carrots or cucumber slices.  It’s definitely a milder version of hummus.  The flavors are more subtle, though still garlicky enough to be good with pita chips too.

Recipe:  Edamame Hummus

(courtesy of Ellie Krieger)

2 c. shelled edamame, cooked according to package directions

1 c. silken tofu, briefly drained of excess liquid

1/2 tsp. salt

3 cloves of garlic

1/4 c. olive oil

1/3 c. freshly-squeezed lemon juice

1 12/ tsp. cumin, plus more to sprinkle on top of finished hummus

pepper, to taste

Add all ingredients to food processor and pulse until well combined.  Spoon into serving bowl and top with a sprinkling of cumin.  Serve with pita chips or vegetable dippers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 6:25 am

    Mmm .. I do something similar with favas when they are in season. This looks as good — and easier! Will give it a try.

  2. September 14, 2009 11:45 am

    i doubt anything can top my love for hummus, but this dip is pretty darn enticing. i love the pale hue especially. ;)

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 15, 2009 2:58 am

    Sean – I’m curious about your fava bean version!

    Grace – This is a nice dip, but it won’t kick my beloved hummus to the curb.

    ~Michelle

  4. September 29, 2009 6:13 am

    I have made this dip before, it’s a great snack, and the tofu really does work out great.

Leave a Reply

