Skip to content

Mocha chocolate chip cookies

September 23, 2009

Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

I think this is a really nice “grown up” sort of cookie.  I found the recipe at the blog Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, and the only change I made was using a little homemade coffee extract in place of store-bought.  I’ve looked for coffee extract around here before and have never found it, so this time I just googled how to make my own.  (Recipe below.)

I made these to take to the teachers at my kids’ school and I think the light coffee flavor combined with the chocolate makes them a hit.  I liked the hint of mocha flavor in them, but it was subtle enough that my kids liked these cookies too.  I think even someone who isn’t a coffee lover would have a hard time turning these down.

Peabody’s actually looked like chocolate chip cookies, but mine ended up looking more like chocolate crinkle cookies.  Go figure.  They still taste mighty good, so I’m not complaining.

Recipe:  Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

(I followed Peabody’s recipe.)

8 oz. unsalted butter, room temperature

1 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. powdered sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. coffee extract  (Homemade coffee extract recipe follows.)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

2 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

1/3 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

12 oz. mini chocolate chips

granulated sugar for rolling cookies

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease cookie sheets with butter or cooking spray.

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda in a bowl.

In another bowl, cream together sugars and butter until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition.  Add coffee extract and vanilla extract and beat for another 30 seconds.  With the mixer on low, add flour mixture.  Mix until thoroughly combined.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Roll cookies into small balls.  Roll balls in granulated sugar to coat.  Place on greased cookie sheet and bake for 6-7 minutes, or until bottom is lightly browned.  (Larger cookies may take up to 10 minutes.)  Leave cookies on baking sheet for a couple minutes before moving them to wire rack to cook completely.  (I got 60 cookies from one batch.)

Recipe:  Homemade Coffee Extract

(from chow.com)

1/2 c. boiling water

3 Tbsp. ground coffee

Pour boiling water over ground coffee and allow to steep for 5 minutes.  Strain with a fine mesh strainer and use as you would coffee extract.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 10:23 am

    LOOOOVE Peabody’s recipes!

  2. September 23, 2009 11:17 am

    You are one prolific baker. Thanks for the coffee extract, too. A good tip to have on hand.

  3. September 23, 2009 12:48 pm

    I love the idea of these. Sounds delicious. I’ve never had that before. I don’t bake (I love to EAT baked stuff though-smile) but my sister does and she’s doing some cookies for me for big daughter’s birthday party next week… I’m going to send her this recipe and see if she’ll give it a go. But then again, I really should try it myself, shouldn’t I? Sigh…
    Anyway, I was so intrigued by the idea of these cookies and then you had to go and say you made the coffee extract yourself! You amaze me!

  4. September 23, 2009 6:14 pm

    i am making these. tomorrow, sooner if possible.

  5. September 23, 2009 8:54 pm

    Ohh, I love mocha! These look yummy! One question: Are they chewy or crunchy?

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 24, 2009 2:58 am

    Lizzy – I prefer my cookies to be on the chewy side, so I never leave them in the oven for the whole recommended baking time. I guess it’s a personal taste thing.
    ~ Michelle

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:01 am

    Veggiegirl – Ditto!

    Irina – Thanks. I don’t remember my mom ever NOT baking when we were growing up. Guess I get it from her. : )

    LonelyScrapbooker – You get a pass on not having time to bake. Those new babies are way more important than baking cookies!

    Amber – Please come back and tell me if you liked them. I think Peabody’s a genius for coming up with this one.

    ~ Michelle

  8. September 24, 2009 1:10 pm

    Hey, Michelle! I can get you coffee extract….you want?
    ~ingrid

  9. September 24, 2009 10:12 pm

    I do like adding a bit of coffee to my chocolate baked goods too- it does add a bit of something special. Your cookies look perfect!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:29 am

    Heck, yea! You’re awesome, Ingrid. I’ve looked all over the place around here and no one sells it. If you get it and ship it, just let me know the final cost for it all and I’ll send a check out to you.

    Are you feeling better?

  11. September 25, 2009 3:26 am

    homemade coffee extract? AWESOME! these cookies appeal to me on so many levels–they’re outstanding!

  12. September 25, 2009 5:27 am

    I think I prefer them looking like chocolate crinkles! And wow, I never knew you could make coffee extract! Thanks for sharing :)

  13. September 25, 2009 10:46 am

    These cookies look incredible, and so good to know about making coffee extract!

  14. September 26, 2009 11:34 am

    These look so pretty–like special occasion cookies. Nice tip on the coffee extract!

  15. September 26, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’ll pick you up a bottle next Friday after work when I make a trip out to the restaurant store in Orl. Oh, and NO you do not owe me anything.
    ~ingrid

  16. September 26, 2009 1:45 pm

    Duh, I still have a cold but it’s on the down swing. I’m really just beat down tired. No rest for the weary. :)
    ~ingrid

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Mocha Cookies «

Leave a Reply

