Skip to content

Apple pumpkin cake

September 28, 2009

Apple Pumpkin Cake

We took the kids apple picking over the weekend, and we came home with about a bushel and a half of apples.  Some for eating and some for baking.  And some for sharing, because really, I can’t see me baking with a whole bushel of apples.  I hate peeling them, so it really keeps me from using them all that much.  I’m trying to be better about it since we have so many, so here’s hoping for at least a few more apple recipes coming your way.

I found this apple pumpkin cake and thought it was a beautiful dessert.  We love pumpkin and the fact that there is whole wheat flour in here is a definite plus.  It makes me feel like it’s a dessert I can eat for breakfast, which I did.  Don’t you love that logic?  C’mon, I know you’d be thinking the same thing.

This is a very pretty dessert, and it’s good, but it wasn’t great.  The apples were good.  The cake was good.  But together they just didn’t ring any bells for me, and I can’t exactly put my finger on why.  {shrug}

The original recipe calls for an 8″ springform pan, but mine’s a 10″ so I doubled everything.  It also says to use whole wheat pastry flour, but I couldn’t find that so I improvised.  I’m posting the recipe I followed, but if you want to see the original for a smaller cake, go to Zoe Bakes.  Or pick up a copy of The Whole Grains Cookbook by Robin Asbell.  And if, like me, you don’t have any pumpkin pie spice on hand, just mix up your own by following the recipe at allrecipes.

Recipe:  Apple Pumpkin Cake

(adapted from Zoe Bakes)

Sauteed Apple Layer:

6 Tbsp. unsalted butter

8 large Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

6 Tbsp. granulated sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

Cake and Streusel Layers:

2 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. cake flour

2 c. light brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 c. unsalted butter, softened and cut into 1″ pieces

6 Tbsp. granulated sugar

4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

2 tsp. baking soda

15 oz. can of pumpkin puree

2/3 c. sour cream

4 large eggs

Butter and flour, or spray with baking spray, a 10″ springform baking pan.  Set aside.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Apple Layer:

In a saute pan, cook sliced apples and 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter over medium heat, just until apples are softened.  Remove from heat and add sugar and cinnamon.  Set aside.

Cake and Streusel Layers:

In a stand mixer, combine whole wheat flour, cake flour, brown sugar, and salt.  Add 1 c. of butter, cut in pieces, and blend well until mixture comes together.  Measure out 1 1/3 c. of flour mixture into a separate bowl.  Add 6 Tbsp. granulated sugar and pumpkin pie spice to this mixture and stir to combine.  Set aside.

To the mixture still in the mixer bowl, add baking soda, pumpkin puree, sour cream, and eggs.  Blend until smooth, about 2 minutes.

Pour the cake batter into the prepared pan.  Spoon sauteed apples over top.  Sprinkle streusel mixture on top of apples.  Bake uncovered for 60-70 minutes.  Allow to cool in pan before removing springform sides.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 5:42 am

    But it looks yummy and it sounds yummy… hmmm? Maybe the apples were bland? (Like I know anything about baking!)

    I think Laila & Jacob are also going to suffer “scrapbook envy”–there’s no way I can do for them what I did for Bebel! I’d have to SB 24/7!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:39 am

    Lonely Scrapbooker – Nope, the apples are great. I think it’s a texture thing for me. I liked both layers, just not necessarily together.

    ~Michelle

  3. September 28, 2009 6:07 pm

    I love that you’ve been apple picking. I’m ready to do something to ring in the fall.

  4. September 29, 2009 1:13 am

    This sounds delicious! And a perfect substitute for boring old pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. I think b/w this and Vanilla Garlic’s pumpkin bread pudding, dessert will be a real hit this year!

  5. September 29, 2009 5:37 am

    i’m not crazy about pumpkin desserts, but i AM crazy about that streusel. sorry it wasn’t completely delicious!

  6. September 29, 2009 6:14 am

    We’re buddies so I’m going to be completely honest. This doesn’t do anything for me. Like you I like pumpkin and apples just not together!

    Grace is right that’s some crumb topping! :)
    ~ingrid

  7. September 30, 2009 3:10 am

    Yea I will agree with Ingrid, they both are good just not sure about together! But that photo does make me want to take a bite!

  8. October 3, 2009 10:23 pm

    ingrid u r so right. pumpkin and apples just not together

  9. August 21, 2010 2:57 pm

    Nice! This my family’s treasured apple cake recipe from my grandma:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/grandmas-slab-apple-cake/

Leave a Reply

