Skip to content

Pumpkin whoopie pies

September 29, 2009

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Sam and his best friend have been bugging me to make whoopie pies for them, so I told them I’d make some pumpkin whoopie pies while they were at school, if they agreed to share them with my book club.  Those boys.  They jumped all over that one.

I decided to make minis for book club and I got a lot more out of one batch than I expected.  I ended up with 45 mini whoopie pies and 8 regular sized ones.  I figured the kids might go for those little ones too, so I made a lot.  The only trouble with them is that it’s hard to stop at just one.  Trust me.  I’m speaking from the experience of taste tester.  These are really, REALLY good.  Not that I’m at all surprised, because every single recipe in the Baked cookbook seems to be amazing.

The only downside here is that the cookies were so moist that they began to stick to the wire rack.  I gave them all a dusting of powdered sugar and that seemed to help.  Maybe I should have baked them a little longer?  I don’t know.  I do know that they’re delicious, and I’ll definitely make them again.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

(from the cookbook Baked: New Frontiers in Baking)

Cookies:

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

2 Tbsp. ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp. ground ginger

1 Tbsp. ground cloves

2 c. firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 c. vegetable oil

3 c. pumpkin puree, chilled  (I admit – I did not chill my pumpkin puree.  Still turned out pretty darn good though.)

2 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Filling:

3 c. powdered sugar, sifted

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.  Set aside.  In another large bowl, whisk together brown sugar and oil until well combined.  Add the pumpkin puree and whisk until combined.  Add eggs and vanilla and whisk until combined.  Sprinkle flour mixture over pumpkin mixture and whisk until fully incorporated.

Drop heaping tablespoons of dough on prepared baking sheets, about 1″ apart.  Bake until cookies are just starting to crack on top and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 15 minutes.  (I baked my mini pies using a teaspoon of batter for 9-10 minutes.)  Let cool completely on pan.

Cream Cheese Filling:

Sift powdered sugar into medium bowl; set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat butter until smooth.  Add cream cheese and beat until well combined.  Scrape bowl down and add vanilla and powdered sugar.  Beat until smooth.  (Filling can be made a day ahead and refrigerated.  Let stand at room temperature to soften before using.)

Transfer filling to plastic bag-turned-pastry bag and snip end.  Pipe a large dollop of filling on the flat side of half the cookies.  Sandwich the remaining cookies, pressing down slightly so that the filling spreads to the edges. Transfer to baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate at least 30 minutes before serving.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 6:10 am

    Do I have to make these or can you just send me some? You really shouldn’t eat that many……. :)

    You’re such a good mama! Don’t ya love when you know you made their day with just a little bit of effort?
    ~ingrid

  2. September 29, 2009 9:59 am

    meh, i’d rather they be too moist than too dry. sticking to the wire racks simply means i get to lick the wire racks. :)

  3. September 29, 2009 1:17 pm

    They look delicious to me. I wouldn’t have known they stuck if you didn’t say anything. A perfect fall treat!

  4. September 30, 2009 2:46 am

    These look great! They just scream fall time. Maybe once it cools down a little bit here I can get into the fall spirit! What a nice mom to make for Sam and his friend!

  5. September 30, 2009 5:19 am

    What a great fall treat. Now that the temperature is below 80 here I can get into the fall baking mode.
    Mimi

  6. October 2, 2009 5:19 am

    These are adorable! I love the idea of mini whoopie pies. I may have to order that cookbook–after this and the root beer cake!

  7. October 4, 2009 1:54 pm

    I think I’ll try these tomorrow. They look incredible.

  8. December 11, 2013 3:38 pm

    These are the best! I have turned so many people into pumpkin eaters with these. Love them every holiday season!!

Leave a Reply

