Skip to content

Salted oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chunks

October 5, 2009

Salted Oatmeal Cookies with White Chocolate Chunks

I mentioned a week or so ago that I had baked for the teachers at my kids’ school.  I’ve got a lot of teachers in my family (me being one too, in my pre-mom days), and I know they appreciate being pampered a little bit.  I also know they deserve a special treat now and then, so I made mocha chocolate chip cookies, individual bags of cinnamon popcorn, and these salted oatmeal cookies.  I’m not sure which thing was the biggest hit, but there were only two lonely cookies left by the afternoon, so I know they were pretty well received.  And bags of popcorn were disappearing from my hands before I even got to the faculty room.  That’s a sure sign of some teachers in need of a little TLC.

I found this recipe at Smitten Kitchen, and she adapted it from Cook’s Illustrated.  I doubled the recipe and got about 100 cookies.  I gotta say, these are gooood oatmeal cookies.  Even though they seem crispy when you first bite into them, they’re immediately chewy.  Definitely out of the ordinary, but in a delicious way.  And the sea salt on top?  Oh, baby.  Be still my heart.  I just love that stuff.  The white chocolate was a nice addition, but truthfully, I could do without it.  The cookies were just so good on their own that I don’t think they needed the chocolate.  But maybe that’s just me.  Try them for yourself and see what you think.

Recipe:  Salted Oatmeal Cookies with White Chocolate Chunks

(as seen at Smitten Kitchen)

1 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. table salt

14 Tbsp. unsalted butter, slightly softened

1 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 1/2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats

6 oz. good-quality white chocolate bar, chopped (not “white chocolate chips” as they are typically not real white chocolate)

1/2 tsp. flaky sea salt for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat.  Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and table salt in a medium bowl.

Beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Scrape down bowl, then add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated.  Scrape down bowl again.  Add flour mixture gradually and mix until just incorporated and smooth.  Gradually add oats and white chocolate pieces.  Mix until well incorporated.

Spoon out about 2 Tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball.  Place balls on lined baking sheet about 2 1/2″ apart.  Using fingertips, gently press down on each ball to about 3/4″ thickness.  Sprinkle some sea salt on top of each cookie.

Bake until cookies are golden brown, about 13-16 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 3:39 am

    white chocolate chunks. salty zing. chewy oatmeal. all i can say is bravo–this is a recipe that should always be doubled!

  2. October 5, 2009 4:16 am

    Wow this sounds like an interesting cookie! I love salt and chocolate, or salt and caramel. I am bookmarking this recipe, the ingredients are things I usually always have on hand.

  3. cookingupaphd permalink
    October 5, 2009 4:39 am

    Those cookies look delicious.

  4. October 5, 2009 4:48 am

    Well, dang! Those look and sound fantastic! Like you I really dig that salty sweet combo but you know how I feel about baking cookies!

    Btw, email me your addy so I can get your extract into the mail.
    ~ingrid

  5. October 5, 2009 8:19 am

    These sound, and look, delicious! What is it about sea salt? It can really transform food. I can’t wait to make these. Thank you for posting!

  6. October 6, 2009 7:39 am

    What a very nice treat for the teachers. They do deserve it!

    I’ve been wanting to make that popcorn since I saw it on Ingrid’s blog. I’ve also had on my list to make oatmeal cookies. Man, I wish I were a teacher for just one day!

  7. jackie permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:32 pm

    Hi

    1/2 teaspoon of flaky sea salt. Is that a 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt per cookie or is that a 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt per batch of cookies.

  8. dzheatherb permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:28 pm

    I left something for you on my blog :)

  9. dzheatherb permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:28 pm

    Oh, my blog address! heatherashleydz.blogspot.com

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:23 am

    Grace – I don’t know about always doubling it….that was a lot of time in front of the stove! {whining}

    Natalie – I liked that it was mostly pantry staples too. And, boy, are they delicious when all brought together and sprinkled with sea salt!

    cookingupaphd – Thank you.

    Ingrid – I know you aren’t a cookie baker – betcha you could turn ’em into cookie bars though. And, thanks – I’ll email you.

    hungry dog – I don’t know what it is about sea salt, but I know I just bought a gigantic jar at BJ’s the other day. I just love it.

    Monica – You should try the popcorn. The teachers even begged for the recipe. It’s pretty darn tasty.

    ~ Michelle

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:24 am

    Jackie – Oh, no! Not 1/2 tsp. on each cookie! Just put a few flakes of salt on each cookie. : )
    ~ Michelle

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:25 am

    dzheatherb – Heading over right now to check it out. I can’t wait….and thanks in advance!
    ~ Michelle

  13. January 25, 2010 1:01 pm

    ooooh geez! white chocolate!!! oh no you didn’t girl!

Leave a Reply

