Skip to content

Broccoli salad

October 8, 2009

Broccoli Salad

I guess everyone has a version of this salad, but it’s so good that I figured I’d share mine.  We love this stuff, but what’s not to love?  It’s got crunch, a sweet/salty flavor, and bacon.  I also like to think it’s at least a little bit good for me.  Yea, yea, I know the broccoli would be better for me all on its own, but I can’t help it… it just tastes better this way.

Recipe:  Broccoli Salad

3 bunches of broccoli florets, cut into small pieces

12 oz. shredded sharp cheddar cheese (or shredded mozzarella cheese)

1 red onion, diced

1 lb. crisp bacon, crumbled

Dressing:

1 1/2 c. Miracle Whip (not mayonnaise)

1/2 c. granulated sugar

3 Tbsp. white vinegar

Combine dressing ingredients in large bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and stir/toss to thoroughly coat.  Chill.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 6:18 am

    oh yumm. this is going on my shopping list tonight. i love things that make bacon feel healthy. and broccoli makes me happy.

  2. October 8, 2009 4:19 pm

    LOVE us some broccoli! Yes, yes we do so I’m thinking this is gonna earn us two thumbs up!
    ~ingrid

  3. October 8, 2009 6:07 pm

    It is so much better slathered in mayo with all the goodness of bacon. Can’t say I’ve ever had cheese inmine, but this looks quite tasty!

Leave a Reply

