Skip to content

Cake wreck

October 8, 2009

Unedited, Overexposed Pic of a Cake Wreck

Wanna hear how I was making this really delicious cake for Jim to take to work tomorrow?  Wanna hear how I followed the directions and BRUSHED OIL generously into my bundt pan?  Hmph.  This is completely annoying, a terrible waste of my time and ingredients, AND now I have to make something else for him to take to his luncheon.  Aaaarrrggghhh!

I’m going to give you the recipe anyway, because Claudia and I have been standing at the counter eating this cake wreck anyway, and it’s really pretty good.  In fact, I might even give it another try but next time I’d use butter and flour instead of oiling the pan first!

Recipe:  Chocolate Cinnamon Bundt Cake with Mocha Icing

(adapted from Bon Appetit)

1 c. boiling water

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

4 tsp. instant espresso powder, divided  (I used instant coffee as a substitute.)

2 c. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 tsp. salt

2 1/2 c. packed light brown sugar, divided

1 c. vegetable oil

1 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 1/4 c. mini semisweet chocolate chips, divided  (I only had regular chocolate chips, but they seemed to have worked fine.)

1/4 c. unsalted butter, room temperature

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Generously brush bundt pan with oil.  (DO NOT DO THIS – SPRAY W/ BAKING SPRAY OR BUTTER AND FLOUR IT INSTEAD) Whisk 1 c. boiling water, cocoa powder, and 2 tsp. espresso powder in a glass measuring cup.

Whisk 2 c. flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl.  Using electric mixer, beat 2 c. brown sugar, 1 c. vegetable oil, and 1 Tbsp. vanilla in a large bowl.  Add eggs and beat to combine.  Beat until smooth, then 30 seconds longer.  Add half the flour mixture and beat until combined; then add cocoa mixture.  Add remaining flour mixture; beating until blended.  Fold in 1 c. chocolate chips.  Transfer batter to prepared pan.

Bake 50 minutes, until tester comes out clean.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Invert onto rack; cool another 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, stir remaining 1/2 c. brown sugar, 2 tsp. espresso powder, and 2 Tbsp. water in a small saucepan over medium heat until sugar dissolves.  Remove from heat.  Add butter and 1/4 c. chocolate chips; stir until butter and chocolate melt.  Cool slightly.  Using a spoon, drizzle icing over cake.  Cool completely.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 7:01 am

    OK so you are human after all (wink wink)

  2. October 8, 2009 7:02 am

    On a totally unrelated note, I wanted to share this quote that Ali E had on her blog today. It goes well with your blog’s name:

    Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return. (Mary Jean Iron)

  3. October 8, 2009 7:11 am

    oh no! What a bummer. I wish the recipe had worked out well, not just for your sake but for mine–I’m in love with my bundt pan and am always looking for new recipes. Oh well, sounds like the cake tasted good at least.

  4. October 8, 2009 7:21 am

    OH no! That sucks…well look at the bright side at least you said it tasted good :)

  5. October 8, 2009 7:59 am

    That is annoying, but it sounds delicious! Hope it comes out of the pan nicely next time.

  6. sumshay permalink
    October 8, 2009 8:52 am

    Looks aren’t everything…the girls and I have eaten many a cake in pieces, crumbled out of the pan, scraped up with spoons. Yes, I know, I’ve screwed up way too many cakes (and have had to take something else instead). But, on the bright side, my girls are happy. And Marc, if he’s fast enough to get a bite!

    And to Lonely Scrapbooker–thanks for sharing that quote. I had to copy it into my journal. Much needed for my life lately!

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 8, 2009 9:31 am

    You are a good friend. Thank God, cause I have had an annoying day and needed someone to be nice. You and Diana fit the bill nicely. : )

  8. October 8, 2009 4:18 pm

    Great quote! I agree it does bring to mind One Ordinary day! That was so thoughtful.

    You know you could take the cake pieces and make cake balls or better yet a big trifle. Make some pudding….if the cake is as yummy as you say then instant would probably work and some whipped cream or cool whip! I’m pretty certain you could make it work. Good luck and I’ll look for your next post to be how you saved it or what you made instead.

    Btw, I totally hate when that happens. I made some mini bundt and the cakes stuck too, but it tasted great!

    I’m off tomorrow (vacation day, not really :( ) and am going to find one of those Mailbox etc stores to have them package your extract. So expect it mid next week!
    ~ingrid

  9. October 8, 2009 6:09 pm

    Make cake balls! I hate when that happens though. bummer.

    The flavors sound great though!

  10. October 8, 2009 7:59 pm

    ugh. i hate when this happens.

  11. October 9, 2009 8:40 am

    Time to make a trifle! SOunds good anyway. I hate when I mess up good ingredients. I have even made things twice with the same results! Argh!

  12. October 9, 2009 12:54 pm

    Aww, bummer! A valiant effort though! I’ve found, better than oil/flour/butter for a bundt pan, is liberally using the baking spray that comes with flour in it.. I use the Crisco brand with Pillsbury flour, and I’ve heard good things about Baker’s Joy too. Glad you were still able to at least snack on it! :)

Leave a Reply

