Skip to content

Caramelized onion dip

October 12, 2009

Pan-Fried Onion Dip

Who doesn’t love Ina Garten?  Never mind…. don’t even tell me if you aren’t a fan.  I like her.  She seems so friendly and genuine, and I’ve liked every one of her recipes I’ve tried so far.  Did you know she used to work in the White House??  That’s so cool.

And this dip!  This dip is wonderful!  That’s saying a lot, coming from me, because until I made this I have never even liked onion dip.  This recipe is a keeper though.  Super easy to make and way better than that little carton of stuff you buy at the grocery store.  I made this for Jim to take to a game on Friday and again to take to a big family thing we had this weekend.  It was a huge hit with everybody, and it’s perfect with chips, pretzels, or veggies.  You definitely want to follow Ina’s advice and serve at room temperature so it’s easy to scoop up.

Don’t you think anything caramelized is just pretty?  I thought that about those bananas I made for the chunky monkey ice cream, and I thought about it again when I was caramelizing the onions for this dip.  I love that deep golden color you get.  In the case of the onions, it totally made up for all the crying I did while I was slicing them.  My eyes sting just thinking about it.

The only change I made to the recipe was that I quartered the onions before thinly slicing them.  That way you’re not fighting with a long slice of onion as you stuff a chip in your mouth.  : )  I also doubled the recipe when I made it to take to my parents’ house, cause frankly, one batch just isn’t enough.

Recipe:  Pan-Fried Onion Dip

(by Ina Garten, Food Network) (All my “tips” are in green.)

2 large yellow onions

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter

1/4 c. vegetable oil

1/4 tsp. ground cayenne pepper

1 tsp. kosher slt

1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 c. sour cream

1/2 cup good mayonnaise

Cut the onions in half, then into quarters, and slice them into 1/8″ thick slices.  You will have about 3 cups of onions.  Heat the butter and oil in a large saute pan over medium heat.  Add the onions, cayenne, salt, and pepper; saute for 10 minutes.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes until the onions are browned and caramelized.  (It seemed to take me longer than this.) Allow the onions to cool.

Place the cream cheese, sour cream, and mayonnaise in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment and beat until smooth.  (I found it worked best to cream the cream cheese a bit first, before adding the sour cream and mayo.) Stir in the onions and mix well.  Taste for seasonings.  Serve at room temperature.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 3:30 am

    This dip looks so delicious and reminds me of a caramelized onion dip I used to always make, the recipes are almost identical. I think I can actually smell onions right now. I’m looking forward to making this dip soon, thanks for reminding me of an old fave ;)

  2. October 12, 2009 5:53 am

    ina is a jovial gal, isn’t she! onion dips aren’t typically a hit with me, but i find this one to be pretty enticing. i do believe it’s the caramelization–what a magical process.

  3. October 12, 2009 8:16 am

    I also love Ina Garten!!! I’ve been thinking about caramelized onions lately and how wonderful they are, and this looks like just the recipe to satisfy the craving!!

  4. October 13, 2009 2:57 am

    Oh my, was this delicious! Thanks!

  5. October 27, 2009 2:51 pm

    oh boy, onion dip is an evil temptress for me. I have never made my own, always been a lipton onion soup and sour cream girl. I will have to try this one day.

  6. Dani permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:09 am

    My school had a Spring Tureen Lunch this week and I if was going to take chips and dip for the luncheon, I typically would buy the onion dip from the grocery store.

    This time I decided to try this amazing dip that I remembered trying while we were at mom’s. It was easy to make and OMG it was amazing!!! I had 4 people ask me for the recipe as soon as they tasted it.

    Unfortunatly, it was gone before the day was over so now I am forced to make another batch.

  7. Nat permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:47 pm

    This looks great! Any idea how long it might last in the fridge?

Leave a Reply

