Skip to content

Candy corn sugar cookies

October 14, 2009

Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

This is a Martha Stewart recipe that I found when I was googling some fun things to make for Halloween.  It’s a sugar cookie that you just roll into a ball and bake, then pop a piece of candy corn on after they come out of the oven.  I made two batches so we’d have both chocolate and vanilla.  The original recipe says you should get 36 cookies out of each batch, but I only got 24.  I can’t imagine how small you’d have to roll these to get 36 cookies.  Mine were pretty tiny to begin with!

These were a big hit and I think they look awfully cute and festive.  And they taste good, so it’s a “good thing.”  (Get it?  I crack myself up.)

Recipe:  Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 large egg yolk  (Big thanks to Clucky and all her chicken friends on Bea’s farm!  I got to use farm fresh eggs… what a treat!)

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

24 candy corns

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place butter and sugar in a medium bowl; beat with a wooden spoon until combined.  Beat in egg yolk, vanilla, baking powder, and salt.  Add flour, and mix until a dough forms.  (I actually just used my mixer.  I’m not trying to be Martha here, folks.)

Scoop out level teaspoons of dough, and roll into balls.  (Chill dough briefly if it becomes too soft to handle.)  Place balls on baking sheets, 2″ apart.  Bake until edges are firm and cookies are dry to the touch (do not let cookies color), 9-11 minutes.

Remove from oven; gently press a candy corn into the center of each cookie while on the cookie sheet.  Cool on sheet 1 minute; transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Variation:

Reduce the amount of flour given in the recipe to 1/2 cup.  Add 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder along with the flour in step 1, then proceed with the rest of the recipe.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 6:26 am

    Those look amazing :) Very nice photo too.

  2. October 14, 2009 7:51 am

    Oooo, it’s almost Halloween! I keep forgetting… Halloween is not a really big thing here, although it does appear more often in stores and such then it did before and we do tend to like it, so I always try and make something for Halloween. This would be perfect!

  3. October 14, 2009 8:42 am

    these look lovely!
    check out my baking blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  4. October 14, 2009 10:21 am

    i LOVE candy corn. i could eat my weight in it and i’m not kidding. i don’t know what it is about that sticky, honeyed sweetness, but i just can’t get enough!

  5. October 14, 2009 12:36 pm

    I love candy corn. I’m not sure if anyone here sells it though. If I found it I might actually try to make these… they look great

  6. October 14, 2009 12:48 pm

    I’m not a fan of the taste of candy corn, but I sure do think they’re cute!

  7. foododelmundo permalink
    October 15, 2009 2:33 am

    ADORABLE! I miss Martha Stewart’s magazine – i used to subscribe, but then it just got too full of advertisements.
    Your cupcake below is as cute as can be too – your kids are lucky to know you! If and when they ever act up you can remind them of that ;-)
    ~ Mary

  8. October 15, 2009 9:16 am

    I love that you did a vanilla version and a chocolate version. Everyone is happy! These are so cute, cute, cute.

  9. October 27, 2009 2:52 pm

    Wow, how fun! I am saving these to make with my stepson. So excited!

Leave a Reply

