Skip to content

Cinnamon pecan coffee cake

October 20, 2009
tags: ,

The Cake Slice Bakers were beginning a new cookbook this month and I figured I’d join in and bake along with them.  I bake very few cakes and thought this would give me a good reason to bake more, so here I am.

This month’s selection is cinnamon pecan coffee cake from Nanci McDermott’s Southern Cakes cookbook.  This is one of the goodies I baked to take along when we visited my parents last weekend.  Made in a 9×13″ pan, it can feed a crowd, which is perfect for us when we’re all together.  I actually made it the week prior to going and froze it.  It was delicious, and now it’ll be one of those go-to morning “desserts” that I can make way ahead of time and not stress over.  I love that.  Perfect for overnight guests…. Thanksgiving…. Christmas…..

The original recipe calls for raisins, but they were not goin’ into my coffee cake.  Ick.  Just bring on the cinnamon and pecans, baby.  Why ruin it with some sort of fruit?  Anyway, I omitted that part.  I also lined my pan with foil so I would be able to lift the baked cake out easily, then I wrapped it up nicely and popped it into the freezer until I needed it.   The batter is quite thick, so my tip would be to use your offset spatula when you are spreading around the batter ~ especially the top layer.  It made it much easier.  I have to say, using a separate bowl for every little thing is not my style.  I’m no Paula Deen here and if no one is around to wash up all the dirty dishes, this recipe can fill the sink in a hurry.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake

(see my changes above, otherwise recipe from Southern Cakes)

Cinnamon-Raisin Filling:

1 1/2 c. light brown sugar

3 Tbsp. all-purpose flour

3 Tbsp. ground cinnamon

1 1/2 c. raisins

1 1/2 c. coarsely chopped pecans

1 1/2 sticks (3/4 c.) butter, melted

Coffee Cake:

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. milk

2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened

1 c. sugar

2 eggs

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 9×13″ pan.

To make the filling, combine the light brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a medium bowl and stir with a fork to mix.  Combine the raisins and pecans in another bowl and toss to mix.  Place the cinnamon mixture, the nut mixture, and the melted butter aside.  (I actually just added the pecans to my cinnamon mixture straight from the get-go.)

To make the coffee cake batter, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl and whisk together.  Stir the vanilla into the milk.  In a large bowl, combine the butter and sugar, beating at high speed with an electric mixer, until pale yellow and evenly mixed, about 2 minutes.  Add the eggs and beat for another 2 minutes, until smooth and light.

Add 1/3 of flour mixture to butter mixture, and stir with a wooden spoon or spatula only until the flour disappears.  Add 1/3 of milk and blend in.  Repeat two more times with remaining flour and milk, stirring just enough each time to keep batter smooth.

Spread half of batter into prepared pan.  Sprinkle half of cinnamon and nut mixtures over batter, followed by half the melted butter.  Spread remaining batter over the filling.  Smooth batter all the way to the edges of the pan.  Top with the remaining filling mixture and melted butter, covering cake evenly.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes, until the cake is golden brown and fragrant, and beginning to pull away from sides of pan.  Cool the cake in the pan for 5-10 minutes before serving hot.  Can also be served warm or room temperature.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 1:41 am

    yum yum!

    Michael

  2. October 20, 2009 1:55 am

    Looks great. I really enjoye it too. It’s funny how many people hate raisins-i love them.

  3. October 20, 2009 2:01 am

    Looks great.. and I am with you… raisins?? No way!

    Blessings!
    Amanda

  4. October 20, 2009 2:23 am

    Welcome to CS and you did great on your 1st cake challenge. I do agree with you that it’s truly delicious.

  5. October 20, 2009 4:45 am

    yeah, the raisins would’ve ruined a magnificent cake. you definitely made the right choice. looks like a pretty unique and delicious breakfast food!

  6. October 20, 2009 5:14 am

    Yum, now that looks good. I like your photo you can really see that swirl.
    ~ingrid

  7. October 20, 2009 9:15 am

    welcome to the group! i made the same gripe to my husband about all the little bowls required…luckily the finished cake was super-tasty!

  8. October 20, 2009 9:40 am

    I agree, it used more bowl that i would have liked. Like 4 bowls plus a measuring cup. annoying.

    Great idea to freeze it. Did it change the texture at all? Did you just leave it to thaw at room temperature?

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:20 am

    Michael – Thank you.

    Faye – Yeah, I’ve gotta pass on the raisins. Just aren’t for me.

    Amanda – Thanks!

    Jo – Thanks for the welcome. It was fun baking along w/ everyone.

    Grace – Yep, really tasty breakfast, I’ll tell ya.

    Ingrid – Thanks. : )

    Steph – What was with all the bowls? Geesh!

    ~ Michelle

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:22 am

    Monica – I love that the coffee cake can be frozen. I actually think it improved the texture because at first I had thought I baked it too long. I thawed it at room temp. and we all really enjoyed it.
    ~ Michelle

  11. October 20, 2009 11:36 am

    Love that center ribbon of goodness. Now that it is getting cold I too will start baking more coffee cakes!

  12. October 20, 2009 1:04 pm

    I’m a big fan of morning “desserts” myself! :) I love how moist and delicious this looks. I agree about the raisins…it looks like this was perfect without them!

  13. October 20, 2009 6:10 pm

    That is a gorgeous coffee cake! I just love pecans in my cinnamon cake. What a great breakfast treat.

  14. October 20, 2009 10:38 pm

    Your cake looks fab – so moist and tender. Glad you liked it

  15. October 21, 2009 12:35 am

    I don’t like to use a ton of bowls in the kitchen either and I always wonder if I’m the only one skimping on the utensils used – LOL! Your cake looks great. I really enjoyed it also.

  16. October 21, 2009 8:23 am

    Oh my. This looks awesome. I’m anti-raisin too…and especially in a cake. Yuck. Anyway, the coffee cake sounds and looks delicious!

  17. hotovenwarmheart permalink
    October 23, 2009 1:00 am

    Hi Michelle!

    I just wanted to stop by and introduce myself- My name is Joy and I’m another one of the newbie Cake Slice bakers. I’m really looking forward to meeting other members, and I hope to have the chance to get to know you better as we bake our way through Southern Cakes :)

    Your coffee cake came out lovely and I’m sure it was a big hit with your family! Thanks for the tip on lining the pan with foil for easy removal and also mentioning that it froze beautifully. I actually put a few slices in my freezer, so I’m glad to know when I take them out, they’ll be delicious as when the cake was freshly baked.

    If you have a chance, I’d love for you to stop by my blog, “Hot Oven, Warm Heart,” and say hello- it’d be wonderful to hear from you!

    Hope you have a great rest of your week and a relaxing weekend!

    Fondly,
    Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

  18. Hana permalink
    September 17, 2011 2:36 pm

    Hi! I just made this cake and was really confused by something – as soon as I was done with the cake batter part, I realized that I had wayyy too little batter. Just a bit more than the brown sugar/nuts mixture, which doesn’t make sense. Did you get something similar? As soon as my hand was over the 9″x13″ pan to pour some in, I saw that there was no way this would cover the bottom once, let alone twice, so I put the cake in a 9″x9″ pan instead. Luckily, it didn’t rise much because it was juust on the brink of spilling over. Do you have any clue as to what might have happened? Thanks! :) (btw it was still delicious!! just wanted to make it bigger, in a 9×13 pan)

  19. one ordinary day permalink
    September 24, 2011 9:34 am

    Hana – I wish I had an answer for you! I filled a 9×13″ pan, but I made the cake such a long time ago that I can’t remember how much batter I had. I’m sorry! What I do remember about this cake was that it was delicious, and I’m glad yours was too, even if it didn’t go as smoothly for you as it should have. Thanks a lot for coming back to comment. :)
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

