Skip to content

Pumpkin smoothie

October 21, 2009

Pumpkin Smoothie

Okay, I know this isn’t the most appetizing picture to post on a blog that’s mostly food-related.  Blame it on the state of my household right now.  Or the state of my mental health.  It’s all related.  When you don’t get a good night’s sleep in days, you get a little punchy.  And this smoothie was really screaming for a pile of whipped cream with cinnamon sprinkled on top, but there’s no whipped cream because I haven’t left my house in about a week, so I went with the spider instead.  Very Halloweenish, right?

My sweet girl has been knocked down with the flu.  On day 3 when I called the doctor, it was too late for an anti-viral medication, so we’ve just been riding it out.  She’s feeling a lot better today and her temperature is finally normal, so I wanted to share with you the breakfast drink that’s been getting me through the day.

This is kind of a recipe, but really more of a guide.  And so easy that you don’t even need me to tell you all this, but you can’t stop me.  {evil laughing}  See?  Not enough sleep.  Anyway, this is a pumpkin smoothie.  Or maybe I should call it what it really is… a chocolate pumpkin banana soy smoothie.  Too many words.  Let’s just say pumpkin smoothie and call it a day.  It’s tasty and full of good stuff, and it’s been a great way to kick start my day.  If you make it, I suggest you go with the pile of whipped cream instead of the spider though.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Smoothie

(makes one serving)

3/4 – 1 c. chocolate soy milk  (or any kind of milk you have… or some vanilla yogurt… or some milk AND some ice cream… hmm)

1/2 c. pumpkin puree  (one small can of pumpkin makes three smoothies)

1 small banana

1 Tbsp. agave nectar  (or brown sugar or honey, to taste)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon  (or pumpkin pie spice… I’ve tried both and liked the straight cinnamon best)

handful of ice cubes

Add all ingredients to the blender and puree until smooth.  Top with some whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon.  (This is going to be really thick if you use yogurt instead of milk, so you’ll also need to add a little milk.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 3:08 am

    Oh no! I hope your little one feels better really soon, and that you can get some rest too. On the bright side, I happen to think the smoothie looks seriously appetizing… I’ve just recently discovered the joys of using pumpkin in interesting ways, and can’t get enough!

  2. October 21, 2009 4:17 am

    Interesting recipe. I would never think to put pumpkin in a smoothie. Hope your little one gets better soon. That’s no fun!

  3. October 21, 2009 4:55 am

    i didn’t even see the spider at first, i was too enamored of the gorgeous color of the smoothie! what a unique idea, and great execution!

  4. October 21, 2009 6:10 am

    Glad to hear your babygirl is on the mend! If you take out the chocolate soy milk add some pumpkin pie spice, vanilla ice cream, and top with graham cracker crumbs. You could make that unhealthy and call it a pumpkin pie milk shake!
    ~ingrid

  5. October 21, 2009 9:02 am

    Yum this sounds so delicious and so much healthier than the other ‘pumpkin smoothie’ options at Jack in the Box or Starbucks! Can’t wait to try this!

  6. October 21, 2009 9:18 am

    That sounds like a delicious smoothie! Whipped cream would be good, but I like the spider.

  7. October 21, 2009 11:11 am

    I recently saw a pumpkin smoothy in a magazine (it was First for Women, I think) and I’ve been thinking about it ever since! Your recipe looks even better because of the chocolate!

  8. October 21, 2009 2:43 pm

    I make pumpkin pie smoothies with leftover pumpkin pie and crumble the crust on top!

  9. October 21, 2009 2:44 pm

    Oh dang, I wasn’t done with my comment…

    anyway, this looks delicious and healthy (unlike mine :-)

    That spider looks so real!

  10. October 27, 2009 9:20 am

    I think it is a great picture and I love the color orange so it looks appetizing to me! The spider even looks real! I will add whipped cream and cinnamon to mine though if it would make you happy- I am always up for taking one for the team;-)

Leave a Reply

