Skip to content

Pumpkin pancakes & pumpkin maple sauce

October 22, 2009

Pumpkin Pancakes

My, but those folks at Libby’s know what to do with a can of pumpkin.  I really think they are the best source for amazing pumpkin recipes.  These pancakes come straight from them, the only thing we changed was the flour.  I think they’re just about perfect.

Before I give you the recipe, I have to point out my Boo Radley sleeping behind my shot.  Unless I’ve got a vacuum cleaner in front of me, he could care less what goes on around him.  That’s pretty much his standard pose.

Back to breakfast.  Be sure to use the Pumpkin Maple Sauce if you really want to take these over the top.  We, which in the case of pancakes really means Jim, didn’t make the sauce for this batch, but it is truly delicious.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Pancakes with Pumpkin Maple Sauce

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour  (If you don’t have any, just substitute with a cup of all-purpose flour.)

2 Tbsp. light brown sugar

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. salt

1 12-oz. can evaporated milk

1/2 c. pumpkin puree

1/4 c. water

1 large egg

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

Pumpkin Maple Sauce  (recipe follows)

Combine flours, brown sugar, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, and salt in a large bowl.  Combine evaporated milk, pumpkin, water, egg, and oil in a separate bowl.  Mix well.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients.  Stir just until moistened; batter may be lumpy.

Heat griddle over medium heat; brush lightly with butter or oil.  Pour 1/4 c. batter onto hot griddle; cook until bubbles begin to burst.  Turn and continue cooking for 1-2 minutes.  Repeat with remaining batter.  Serve with Pumpkin Maple Sauce and chopped nuts, if desired.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Maple Sauce

Heat 1 c. maple syrup, 1 1/4 c. pumpkin puree, and 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice in a small saucepan until warm.  Serve over pumpkin pancakes.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 4:18 pm

    those look amazing! thanks for sharing that recipe.

  2. October 22, 2009 6:27 pm

    ooh, pumpkin pancakes are my fave. When we go to our favorite breakfast spot and these are on the menu, I order them!

    You’re so right, Libby’s has some good recipes.

  3. October 22, 2009 10:20 pm

    this is the perfect breakfast for the pumpkin-lover, which unfortunately is not me. the cakes have an awesome fluff-quality though, and the sauce would be the perfect topper!

  4. October 23, 2009 3:52 am

    I have three pancake lovers in my house and I think they would go crazy for a pumpkin version. They look terrific!

  5. October 23, 2009 5:02 am

    Well, we’ve talked about this before, my kiddos won’t eat these for breakfast (they want the plain ones) but will I’m sure happily gobble these up for dinner. Aren’t they a pain?

    I’m at work but will check out your video later. How’s your babygirl? All better? Even though it’s tough when they are calling out for us all the time, it makes my heart melt a little when my babygirl calls me Mama. :) I’m just plain Mom to the twins but they do give me lots of lovin’ still!
    ~ingrid

  6. October 23, 2009 6:55 am

    Yum! I love pumpkin pancakes…and I love your photo. makes me want to dig right in.

  7. October 26, 2009 7:26 am

    This is a fantastic Idea! Why have I not heard of this??? Pumpkin pancakes yummmy! Any way I stopped by to check out your Cake Slice cake and welcome you to the group soo WELCOME! and thanks for sharing such great recipes.

  8. October 28, 2009 6:25 am

    Luscious pancake picture! I really enjoy pumpkin pancakes. You’ve reminded me to get busy and make some before the season gets away from me.

  9. November 5, 2009 9:14 am

    These were wonderful, my kids couldn’t get enough! And I really liked the sauce, it really made the pancakes special! Thanks for the recipe, I’ll be making these again for sure! (Got to get rid of that pesky pumpkin, lol!)

  10. November 9, 2009 8:35 am

    I had it on my list of things to make this week for breakfast, just needed to find a recipe!

    I have FF evaporated milk – do you think that would work okay?

Trackbacks

  1. Theme of the Day – Pumpkin and Happy Anniversary! « Biggest Diabetic Loser
  2. Nothing But Pumpkin Day – Breakfast : Pumpkin French Toast w/Pumpkin Maple Syrup, and a Pumpkin Smoothie » Love Me Some Pumpkin!
  3. The All-Pumpkin Meal Plan – a Summary Post » Love Me Some Pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

