Skip to content

Whole wheat brownies

October 29, 2009

Whole Wheat Brownies

Yep.  Whole wheat brownies.  Gotta be good for you, right?  Well, if you ignore the cup of butter, I suppose they are.  I was curious if you could really make a good brownie using all whole wheat flour, and it turns out that you can.  These are pretty good.  If you really want to hide the fact that they’re whole wheat, bake them, cover them, and don’t eat them until the next day.  That gives the bran time to soften up and it’s much more disguised.  My kids never knew the difference.

And to help me make these even tastier, I used this coffee extract:

My friend, Ingrid from 3 B’s, was super sweet and sent me these two awesome extracts, so I don’t have to make my own coffee extract anymore!  I was so excited to see coffee and chocolate extracts and spent most of the afternoon they arrived all curled up under a blanket, with a cold rain pelting at the windows, looking for recipes.  Thank you, Ingrid!!!

I found this brownie recipe at King Arthur Flour and based on the reviews it got there, I figured I’d give it a try.  I made an adjustment here and there, and we ate every last crumb.  I’m not sure I’d make them again using all whole wheat flour though, because there was definitely a texture that you don’t find in traditional brownies.  Not that it was bad or anything, but just apparent.  Maybe half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour would have been better.  Or maybe a little patience on our parts would have been better.  After all, the recipe clearly tells you to wait until the next day to eat them, but of course that’s delaying gratification too long for us impatient types.

Recipe:  Whole Wheat Brownies

(adapted from King Arthur Flour)

1 c. unsalted butter, softened

2 c. light brown sugar, packed

3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. coffee extract

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

4 large eggs

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 c. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips

1 c. peanut butter chips

sea salt to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly spray a 9×13″ pan with cooking spray.  Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat.  Add sugar and stir to combine until sugar dissolves.  Transfer mixture to mixing bowl and stir in cocoa, baking soda, salt, baking powder, coffee and vanilla extracts.  Add the eggs, stirring until smooth.  Then add flour and chips, stirring until combined.  Spoon batter into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes, until a cake tester reveals only moist crumbs, but not raw batter.  Remove from the oven and cool completely.  Cover and sit overnight before cutting and serving to give the bran a chance to soften and become “invisible” in your mouth.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 4:17 am

    Those brownies look awesome! I’ve never used coffee or chocolate extract. Interesting…

  2. October 29, 2009 4:35 am

    It’s a totally ridiculous expectation to wait a whole day to eat a brownie! What are they thinking?? Those look wonderful.

  3. October 29, 2009 5:51 am

    That could be considered torture to make the brownies and have to wait a whole day to dig in. I see why you didn’t wait!

    I just love Ingrid, don’t you?

  4. October 29, 2009 6:31 am

    based on looks alone, i never would’ve guessed that whole wheat flour was involved here. awesome bonus. also, this notion of coffee extract entices me greatly–i never knew it existed, but it would lend so much to a chocolate dessert such as this!

  5. October 29, 2009 7:44 am

    I’m awesome! ha-ha! Glad you liked them and I can’t wait to see what else you make with them.

    You’re welcome!
    ~ingrid

  6. October 30, 2009 12:14 am

    Ive never seen coffee extract, although I do use that same brand for vanilla and rose extract! Im going to have to look for this! These brownies look SOOO good and I certainly can appreicate they whole wheatiness :)

  7. October 30, 2009 1:56 am

    Oh Michelle. Now you’ve made me crave brownies when what I have for breakfast is a granola bar ;p. I actually have KA flour’s whole grain baking book. I haven’t seen coffee extract locally either. Do you think I could use instant coffee granules in a pinch (I know it’s a few steps down…)?

  8. October 30, 2009 2:20 am

    Yumm…I could probably eat twice as many. rationalizing they are good for you!

    Love Ingrid…she is awesome!

  9. October 30, 2009 3:28 am

    These look delicious. Coffee always makes the taste of chocolate really stand out…good idea with the extract!

  10. October 30, 2009 3:33 am

    good idea! it’s hard to resist a brownie warm out of the oven though!

  11. October 30, 2009 3:40 am

    I have yet to get used to the taste of whole wheat flour- but in a brownie, I think I could manage just fine!!

  12. October 30, 2009 2:08 pm

    I can eat these all year long! It looks soo divine.

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:22 am

    Jen – I’m so excited to try these extracts out!

    Sara – I completely agree, and we absolutely couldn’t wait any longer than it took for the brownies to cool slightly.

    Monica – Yes, indeedy… I do adore that Ingrid! : )

    Grace – I love the extra depth coffee extract adds to chocolate desserts. You don’t taste the coffee, but it really makes the chocolate pop.

    Ingrid – YOU ARE AWESOME!

    Jen – Ooooh. Rose extract! I’d love to see what you do with that!

    ~ Michelle

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:25 am

    Xiaolu – I have subbed instant coffee granules in place of coffee extract. I’ve also made my own. If you scroll back to the mocha cookies I did a short while ago, I posted a “recipe” for making it. : )
    ~ Michelle

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:28 am

    Krystle – You’re my kind of girl… that’s exactly what I did!

    Hungry Dog – I do like the addition and the extract is just awesome.

    Megan – We waited as long as humanly possible, and it wasn’t much more than an hour. LOL

    Robin Sue – I use whole wheat flour often, but not generally w/o all-purpose to help disguise it. I don’t really even notice it, to tell you the truth. Maybe I’m just used to it.

    Rylan – Thank you!

    ~ Michelle

  16. November 2, 2009 7:22 am

    Whole wheat? Great. I’ll be trying these.

  17. November 10, 2009 7:46 pm

    Judging by the photo, I never would have guessed these are healthier brownies with whole wheat flour! Wow, I’ll to give these a try. Adding coffee extract sounds good, I may add a bit of espresso since I don’t have coffee extract.
    btw love your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Whole wheat brownies « One Ordinary Day Wheat Blog

Leave a Reply

