Skip to content

My favorite chocolate chip cookies

November 3, 2009

Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies

My favorite chocolate chip cookie is, without a doubt, the Nestle Toll House cookie.  In my family, we do make one small change to that recipe though, and that is substituting Crisco for the butter.  It’s the only time I do that when I’m baking, but it just makes for the tastiest, chewiest cookie ever.  I also take them out when they are still a tad underbaked, which gives the perfect texture once the cookie has cooled.

Oh baby, do we love these cookies.  And it’s not just us.  You wouldn’t believe the compliments and begging that ensues whenever I take these anywhere.  People clamor to get to them, then they harass me for the recipe.  I always feel really silly telling them that it just comes from the back of the chocolate chip bag, to which I always hear that their cookies never taste like that.  That tells me it’s gotta be the Crisco.  Not the butter flavored kind though…. nope.  It’s gotta be good old fashioned Crisco in the blue container.  Try it.  You won’t be disappointed.

Recipe:  Chocolate Chip Cookies

(source:  Nestle Toll House Cookies)

2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 c. Crisco shortening  (original recipe calls for 1 c. softened butter)

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 c. Nestle semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in small bowl; set aside.  Beat Crisco, sugars, and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-9 minutes or until edges begin to get golden.  (Original recipe calls for baking 9-11 minutes.)  Cool one minute on cookie sheet and remove to wire rack to cool completely.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 4:24 am

    The Nestle recipe is a classic…I have made it many times myself with great results. Never tried it with crisco but I know that can improve the texture of cookies. Your photos are gorgeous!!

  2. November 3, 2009 6:09 am

    those look strikingly like the cookies my favorite recipe makes as well. i love the thickness (or lack thereof) and the obviously crispy-chewy texture of them. delicious!

  3. November 3, 2009 6:58 am

    Can’t you just send me some? Please? (Did you hear the whine in my voice?) :)

    They look great Michelle.
    ~ingrid

  4. November 3, 2009 9:45 am

    I want! now!

  5. November 3, 2009 3:07 pm

    It’s funny, I was just going to say that my cookies never look that incredible when I use the recipe off the back of the bag! Thanks for sharing your secret, I’ll definitely be trying it with Crisco!

  6. November 3, 2009 5:40 pm

    Nestle Toll House cookies always make me think of the episode on Friends where Phoebe wants this special cookie recipe and Monica bakes for days trying to recreate and it turns out to be the recipe on the back of the package :-)

    I’m going to have to try these with the shortening next time and see what a difference it makes. Thanks for the tip!

  7. Dani permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:57 am

    I have to agree with Shell. The crisco makes the cookie the best EVER!!!

  8. October 8, 2013 2:23 am

    My grandmother always used half crisco and half butter and that is what I have always done too. May try yours though.

  9. Abby permalink
    April 24, 2016 4:18 pm

    HI,
    ALL i HAVE ON HAND IS THE BUTTER FLAVOR CRISCO…. DO YOU THINK THAT WOULD WORK AS WELL ?? THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I’VE EVER TRIED THE BUTTER FLAVOR AND NOW OF COURSE I NEED THE REGULAR….LOL

  10. Michelle permalink
    April 24, 2016 4:35 pm

    Abby, I have also used butter flavored but I’m not as crazy about them. But really, it’s probably more that the straight up Crisco reminds me of my mom’s cookies!

  11. Abby permalink
    April 24, 2016 4:46 pm

    Thanks, you’re right about our moms using regular white Crisco,,,,my g’ma used good ol’ lard in hers and my gosh both of their pie crusts were amazing too…. I think I’ll wait til I get regular Crisco.

Leave a Reply

