Skip to content

Tie dyed cookies

November 14, 2009

Tie Dyed Cookies

There really isn’t a day that I don’t take a picture of something or someone, so I’ve been at a loss since my camera broke.  Actually, it’s been more like a major funk.  It’s a little bizarre how weird it is NOT to take pictures.  So Jim brought a camera home from work for me to borrow while waiting for a replacement for mine.  (No, Diana, it won’t be that much sought-after DSLR, but a higher end point and shoot.  I can live with that.  For now.)

Anyway, what better way to pull myself out of a blue mood than by baking these crazy tie dyed cookies?  My kids had Fall parties at school and Sam asked specifically for this cookie.  I started with a sugar cookie recipe, and with a little rolling, I ended up with these big, swirly cookies.  They were perfect to share with a bunch of 10 year olds.  Now they think I’m totally groovy.

So here’s what you do.  Make your dough and divide it into four equal parts.  Squeeze a bit of food coloring into the middle of each and moosh and squish until the dough is the color you want and there are no streaks.  Now wrap them up and refrigerate them for about an hour.  Once they’re chilled, grab a pinch from each color and roll them into small balls.  Then put all of those balls together and roll them into one larger ball.  Roll the ball on a flat surface to make a “snake” about 12″ long.  Then, you begin at one end and roll it into a big swirl.  Tuck the loose end under the cookie and transfer to a cookie sheet.  Leave a lot of room for spreading because they get pretty big.  I only baked 8 at a time, and with all the rolling, this was a little time consuming for a batch of cookies, but the kids really enjoyed them so it was worth it.

Recipe:  Tie Dyed Cookies

2 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 c. butter, softened

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. almond extract

food coloring (Betty Crocker neon gel food coloring)

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and baking powder.  Set aside.  In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together for a few minutes until smooth.  Beat in egg and extracts.  Gradually add dry ingredients until all flour is incorporated.  Remove dough from bowl and pat into a big ball.  Divide into 4 equal portions.  Add a different color of food coloring to each portion.  Knead until the color is blended in.  Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Place chilled dough near your work surface.  (I used a pastry board and cloth so I didn’t need to cover my work surface with powdered sugar to prevent sticking.)  Pinch a piece of dough from each color and roll each into a small ball.  Now, combine all four small balls in your hand and roll them into one bigger ball.  On your work surface, roll dough out into a long “snake,” about 12″ long.  Starting at one end, begin to make a swirl by rolling it around and around all along the length of the cookie dough.  When you reach the end, tuck the end under the cookie.  Transfer to an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 8 cookies at a time for 7-9 minutes.  Cookies will spread a lot and get golden around the edges.  Remove from oven and cool one minute on cookie sheet before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 10:42 am

    wow so cool!

    Michael

  2. November 14, 2009 10:48 am

    Those belong in the Candyland board game – so fun! :)

  3. November 14, 2009 11:28 am

    These are beautiful! I could do this with Bebel. She’d love it.
    Glad you got a camera to borrow. I missed you : )

  4. November 14, 2009 11:29 am

    How do I email this post? I want to send it to two people.
    And I just saw you added the normal day quote to your sidebar. Very cool!

  5. November 14, 2009 12:52 pm

    Those are cool looking. They don’t really look like cookies. Kinda like frisbees.
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 14, 2009 1:18 pm

    When I want to email a post to someone, I typically just copy the url and paste it into my email. : )

  7. November 15, 2009 1:24 am

    these are downright awesome. i LOVE the blend of colors, the hypnotic swirl, and the thin-ness of these babies. very very groovy, man. :)

  8. November 16, 2009 5:09 pm

    These are so much fun! I am definitely going to make these. You and these cookies are groovy!

  9. November 18, 2009 8:01 am

    These are totally cute and such a great idea! Hope you get a camera soon. I would die, sort of, if mine died too.

  10. Jennifer permalink
    December 10, 2009 7:37 am

    I made these exactly like recipe called. The dough was rather sticky and not very sturdy. When I baked the cookies, the colors ran together and you couldn’t tell we made a long snake and rolled them around. I refrigerated half the batch and tried again the next day thinking maybe dough needed to be cold. Same thing. What did I do wrong? They were definitely tasty though. Prob the best tasting sugar cookie I’ve ever ate. So I’ll definitely make it again for regular sugar cookies.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 10, 2009 11:24 am

    Hi, Jennifer. I’m sorry your cookies didn’t turn out the way they should have. Did you chill them well before trying to roll them? That’s the only thing I can think of because I didn’t have the trouble with the dough that you did. I was actually hoping my cookies would stay in a more obvious roll too, but the kids liked how they turned out and they tasted good, so it was okay in the end.
    Thanks for reading my blog!
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

