Skip to content

Chocolate chip peanut butter banana bread

November 17, 2009

Pretty lengthy name, eh?  But, I’d hate to leave anything out because each of those flavors totally deserves to be mentioned.  This bread is a favorite of mine.  I came across it over at Recipe Girl‘s blog about a year ago and I’ve been making it ever since.  I don’t know why I’ve never posted about it before.  It is the best way I’ve found to use up bananas, and both my kids even like it.  That’s saying a lot cause they never want to eat anything with bananas baked into it.

One full recipe should make two loaves of bread, but I must have larger pans because I only get one large loaf and a few muffins out of this.  I follow the original recipe with the exception of a tiny increase in the salt, and at the end when I doll it up a smidge.  I can’t resist extra chocolate chips and a sprinkling of granulated and brown sugars on top.  I love how the bread or muffins look when they come out of the oven.  You can see a little sparkle from the sugars and the chocolate makes you want to cut right into it.  And it freezes great, so you can double the recipe and enjoy some now and save some for another time.  Perfect for the holidays!

Recipe:  Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Banana Bread

(very slightly adapted from Recipe Girl)

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. packed light brown sugar

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 1/2 c. mashed, overrripe bananas

1 c. milk, any fat content

3/4 c. smooth peanut butter

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 c. semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips, plus a few more for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease two 9×5″ loaf pans (or muffin tins).

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, sugars, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

In another large bowl, combine mashed bananas, milk, peanut butter, vanilla, and egg.  Stir to blend.  Add to flour mixture, stirring just until combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour batter into prepared pans.  Sprinkle a few extra chocolate chips on top, then a sprinkling of granulated sugar and brown sugar.  Bake 50 or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  (Muffins take about 18 minutes.)  Cool in pan for about 10 minutes, then turn out and cool on wire rack.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 4:54 am

    This looks fabulous–I would love a big slice of this right now for breakfast (beats a yogurt and fruit!) Thanks for posting the recipe!

  2. November 17, 2009 5:39 am

    When I first read the title and looked at the photo I was like, I don’t know, looks like a lot of chocolate but after looking at your photos longer I’m thinking this looks mighty good. And I do like chocolate and PB together. AND we all know I love bananas. :) Yup, I need to give this a try and I’ve got bananas ripening as we speak!
    ~ingrid

  3. November 17, 2009 7:26 am

    banana bread < peanut butter banana bread <chocolate chip peanut butter banana bread. the alligator eats the better bread. :)

  4. November 17, 2009 12:42 pm

    Glad you like it :)

  5. November 17, 2009 1:49 pm

    This looks fantastic, Michelle! I can’t believe there’s no butter in it either. That means I can have twice as much, right? ;p

  6. November 17, 2009 2:05 pm

    I made chocolate peanut butter and banana cupcakes the other day – it is a great combination isn’t it?

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 18, 2009 8:01 am

    Oh, Lori. I don’t just like this bread…. it is easily one of my favorites. Thanks for sharing it!!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. muffins and levi |

Leave a Reply

