Skip to content

Chocolate (tofu) pudding

November 19, 2009

Chocolate (Tofu) Pudding

Yep.  You read that right.  There’s tofu in my pudding!  Or maybe I should be saying that my pudding is tofu!  Who woulda’ guessed it?  Nobody, that’s who!  This is a very quick and easy recipe to put together, and you get such a chocolaty treat.  I loved the flavor, but my only complaint is that it isn’t as thick and creamy as it should be.  I will definitely try again though, as both Mark Bittman (in the NY Times) and Diane from Stylish Cuisine claim it to be thick, so I’m thinking maybe I just over mixed it or some such thing.  Next time I’ll cut back on the water a little bit and see how it turns out.  There will surely be a next time.  I’ve already eaten two of these and the kids haven’t even gotten home from school yet!  I’m consoling myself with the fact that it’s TOFU, people.  Good for me and all that.  {tee hee}  Plus, I just can’t believe I actually like it, but I really do.  Yum!

Recipe:  Chocolate (Tofu) Pudding

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. water

1 lb. silken tofu

8 ounces high quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, melted

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

chocolate shaving and whipped cream to garnish

In a small pot, combine sugar with 3/4 c. water; bring to a boil and cook until sugar dissolves, stirring occasionally.  Cool slightly.

Put all ingredients, except for the garnish, into a blender and puree until completely smooth, stopping to scrape down sides as necessary.  Divide among 6 ramekins and chill for at least 30 minutes.  Garnish with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 4:29 pm

    Oh, no! Please tell me you’re not going all healthy on me?! LOL, it’s chocolate so I’m out anyway.

    SOOO, what’s up with the camera? Didya get a new one yet. Be sure to give us the scoop. I’m not gonna ask Santa for anything this year and see if I can’t work on getting a new one myself come Spring (income tax time).
    ~ingrid

  2. November 19, 2009 5:04 pm

    Interesting – I never would of considered using tofu to make mousse. Glad you liked it :)

  3. November 19, 2009 5:38 pm

    Haha I’ve heard about this one all over the blogosphere and keep meaning to try it. But I did recently make a vegan “pastry cream” using silken tofu that turned out well.

  4. November 19, 2009 10:09 pm

    Ohhh, I make tofu pudding all the time! It’s so creamy and easy to do! I’m making white chocolate pudding next week! Yum!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 20, 2009 1:47 am

    Ingrid – You’re too funny. Me? Healthy? Ppff. Nope. Not gonna happen. That would mean an end to nachos piled with cheese, pepsi, salted brownies, etc. Couldn’t do it. Wouldn’t even want to. : ) I did love the taste of this pudding though!
    ~ Michelle

  6. November 20, 2009 2:22 am

    this is officially the best way to get someone to eat tofu. even the haters can’t deny its appeal!

  7. November 20, 2009 10:10 am

    Would anyone guess there’s tofu in there if they tried it? Does it seem “odd” in any way?

  8. grandy permalink
    November 21, 2009 2:58 am

    Maybe you can make your tofu pudding for me when you come home.

  9. November 29, 2009 8:45 am

    I love tofu pudding, especially chocolate! I make a Chocolate Peanut Butter pie using tofu that is to die for and no one ever guesses that it is tofu…and I’m not telling them :)

Leave a Reply

