Skip to content

Pumpkin pecan pie candy

December 1, 2009

Pumpkin Pecan Pie Candy

I saw these a month or so ago at Beantown Baker and knew I’d be making them.  I’ve had all the ingredients in the pantry for weeks, but didn’t get to it until now.  They were a perfect treat for book club.  Bite-sized, holiday flavors, and sweet.

Though this is a little messy to make, I kind of had a good system going after a few minutes and I managed to be a little neater.  These candies definitely give you the taste of pumpkin and pecan pies.

They were a huge hit at the library and I think they make a nice, out of the ordinary treat.  There is a lot of sugar, which I would cut back on next time though.  (Jen from Beantown Baker said the same thing in her post.)  I also think this would be an easy candy to adapt with a sugar substitute if you needed to.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Pecan Pie Candy

(found at the blog Beantown Baker)

1 15-oz. can pumpkin puree

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 c. sweetened, shredded coconut

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 – 2 c. chopped and toasted pecans

In a medium saucepan, combine the pumpkin, sugar, coconut, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.  Over medium heat, cook and mix together and allow sugar to dissolve.  Continue cooking and stirring until mixture forms into a ball, about 15-20 minutes  (Mine actually took 30 minutes, so just be patient.)  Once the liquid evaporates, the mixture will come together in a ball.

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Transfer to a heat-safe bowl and cover mixture with plastic wrap so a skin doesn’t form.  Chill until cool.

Using a cookie scoop or tablespoon, scoop up a little mixture and roll in your hands or carefully drop onto plate of chopped pecans.  (I found that if I dropped my spoonful of pumpkin onto the pecans, it was easier to neatly cover it with nuts, then to shape it into the ball shape.  Rolling it in your hands gets pretty messy.)  Coat all sides of pumpkin mixture with pecans.  Replace in refrigerator until ready to eat.  Can be stored in an airtight container up to one week.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 4:37 am

    it’s little nibblies like this that make me really rue the fact that i don’t like pumpkin. aside from that little issue, these’d be tremendous!

  2. December 1, 2009 4:57 am

    Yours look great! I had fun making a mess of my hands to roll them out.

  3. December 1, 2009 5:34 pm

    oh yummy! What a neat little snack and a clever idea. I want some of these now!

  4. December 1, 2009 7:00 pm

    Oh what a creative spin to some classic flavors. Love this!

  5. December 2, 2009 3:50 pm

    These are fantastic, great idea. How much sugar do you suggest?

  6. December 3, 2009 7:07 am

    This is another one of those recipes that I want to eat just not make. :( Send me some! Sorry, I’ve been a bit MIA on the commenting scene.
    ~ingrid

  7. December 16, 2009 6:14 am

    oh my, you have all kinds of yummy stuff! i’ll definitely have to be trying some of these! thanks for leaving me a comment and leading me to your blog!!

Leave a Reply

