Skip to content

Cream puffs with cinnamon whipped cream

December 5, 2009
tags:

Cinnamon Whipped Cream Cream Puffs

These turned out so wonderfully that I couldn’t wait to share them.  My only complaint is that the recipe only makes 12 or 13 puffs.  I guess unless you are sharing them, maybe that’s a good thing, eh?

This is my first time making cream puffs and it was really easy.  They do take quite a while in the oven, but the payoff is excellent.  I wanted a little something extra for these, so I made some cinnamon whipped cream to fill them with.  I know the photo is kinda boring, but that’s just because the cream is tucked inside.  After the puffs cooled completely, I used a paring knife to poke a small hole in the bottom of each one.  I filled a pastry bag with the cream and squeezed it in through the bottom.

The whipped cream was delicious!  That extra touch of cinnamon just made each of these little puffs a delight.  Now I’m wondering if they could be made ahead and frozen with the cream right inside.  Anyone know?

Recipe:  Cream Puffs

(from Joy of Baking)

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter

1/2 c. water

2 large eggs, slightly beaten

Egg Wash Glaze:

1 large egg

1/8 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and place rack in center of oven.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, sugar, and salt.  Set aside.  Place butter and water in heavy saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and, with a wooden spoon, quickly add the flour mixture.  Return to heat and stir constantly until the dough comes away from the sides of the pan and forms a thick, smooth ball.  (1-2 minutes)  Transfer the dough to your electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, and beat on low speed a minute or two to release the steam from the dough.  Add the slightly beaten eggs and continue to mix until you have a smooth thick paste.  Spoon or pipe 12-13 mounds of dough onto the baking sheet.  Beat together the egg and salt for the glaze.  With a pastry brush, gently brush the glaze on top of the dough.

Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees, then reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees.  Bake for a further 30-40 minutes, or until the shells are a nice amber color and, when split, are dry inside.  Turn the oven off and open the door slightly ajar.  Let the puffs dry an additional 10-15 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool completely on a wire rack.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Whipped Cream

1 c. cold heavy cream

2 Tbsp. sugar  (I used granulated sugar this time, but next time I’ll try it with powdered sugar instead.  Just a tiny bit grainy with the granulated sugar.)

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and beat in a cold stainless steel bowl until you achieve a good consistency for piping.  When the whisk attachment is lifted out of the cream, the peak holds its shape.  Fill pastry bag (any tip) with cream and squeeze filling into cream puffs.  (You can split cream puffs in half to fill, or poke a hole in the bottom with a paring knife, insert tip of pastry bag and fill.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 5:37 am

    delicious! (^-^)

    Michael

  2. December 5, 2009 6:55 am

    Not boring at all, I love the look of choux pastries! I haven’t made these myself, but I know there are frozen cream puffs sold at the grocery. Those may be filled with pastry cream though.

  3. December 5, 2009 12:40 pm

    My mom used to make these for us on special occasions…thanks for the reminder. I will try them with my own kids.

  4. December 5, 2009 2:35 pm

    I’m pretty sure you can freeze these.

  5. December 5, 2009 6:24 pm

    yumm. I have been on a major cinammon kick lately. and my husband LOVES cream puffs. i think this will make us both happy.

  6. December 6, 2009 1:13 am

    (i like the blog redesign.)
    OF COURSE i’m smitten with these. poofs of cinnamon-heavy cream are a prime example of what makes my world go around. :)

  7. December 6, 2009 2:13 pm

    First of all, nice redesign! Looks great!! Second, these are adorable. I’ve made this kind of dough once before and found it surprisingly easy. This is a good reminder that I should do it again.

  8. December 6, 2009 7:35 pm

    I think before I can adequately rate these, I’d NEED to try these. ASAP!

  9. December 7, 2009 3:57 pm

    I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for a while. Thanks for trying it out for me. I think that 12-13 puffs should be plenty for my small household!

  10. December 8, 2009 6:25 am

    I made cream puffs this summer and they were good.

    Wow, yours do bake for quite awhile. I don’t remember that and I’m pretty sure I used the joy of baking’s recipe too! Weird. :) I like your addition of cinnamon but we all know that’s not a huge surprise.

    Btw, give us a shot of one cut open! I wanna see that yummy cinnamony cream filling! :) Put that new camera to work! Please? LOL!
    ~ingrid

  11. Thom permalink
    December 8, 2009 11:05 am

    They’ll freeze OK without the cream but not with it in there

  12. December 31, 2009 9:56 am

    I highly enjoyed reading your post, keep up creating such interesting stuff!!

Leave a Reply

