Skip to content

Chocolate peppermint cookies

December 8, 2009

Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Now this cookie is right up my alley.  Chocolate.  Peppermint.  Enough said.  I could put a serious dent in these cookies all by myself, but I showed remarkable self-control and got most of them packaged up and into the freezer before I could eat them all.  Putting the crushed up candy canes on them helped, because I liked them better without.  Forget all the bells and whistles – just let me at them still a little warm from the oven.  Perfection.

Recipe:  Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

(adapted from the Salt Lake Tribune)

2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 c. packed light brown sugar

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. pure peppermint extract

2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

Glaze:

3/4 c. powdered sugar

1/4 tsp. pure peppermint extract

3 1/2 tsp. milk or half and half

finely crushed candy canes, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.  In the bowl of your mixer, beat butter with the sugars until fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating until smooth after each addition.  Scrape sides of bowl as necessary.  Add vanilla and peppermint extracts.  On low speed, mix in the flour mixture a little at a time.  Gently mix in the chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.

Place teaspoons of dough on ungreased cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 7-8 minutes, just until cracked on top.  Cool for one minute on pan before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.  Drizzle glaze over top of cooled cookies.  Sprinkle with crushed candy canes while glaze is still wet.  Let cookies stand 10-20 minutes until set.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 4:33 am

    Oh my. Chocolate and peppermint, the two most beautiful words in the English language! I might have to make these for my Christmas cookie bake-off in a few weeks.

  2. December 8, 2009 6:15 am

    I LOVE your new look and layout! Were you always on wordpress?

    They look pretty with the crushed candy canes and drizzle on top.
    ~ingrid

  3. December 8, 2009 6:23 am

    They look absolutely lovely but unfortunately I am not a huge fan of peppermint. Come to think of it; that is not entirely true as I eat a lot of smint so that is peppermint, lol… but anyway; I am not too fond of the chocolate/peppermint combination although they do look delicious!

  4. December 8, 2009 7:09 am

    You had me at the title, Michelle. These sounds wonderful and look so festive. Btw, this reminds me of the time my friend put 1/4 cup peppermint extract in a recipe that called for Creme de Menthe. The faces we made when we tried it were timeless.

  5. December 8, 2009 7:41 am

    Chocolate + Peppermint = My favorite combo!

    I have already made chocolate peppermint ice cream this season, time to make cookies!

  6. December 8, 2009 7:57 am

    we must live in the same alley, because these are right up mine, too! not only are they made with one of my favorite flavor combinations, but the results are so pretty!

  7. December 8, 2009 8:33 am

    These go with you new header! I love chocolate and peppermint together and I’m some form of it will show up in my cookie boxes this year. I haven’t started baking though and that’s stressing me out!

  8. December 8, 2009 10:59 am

    I agree chocolate + peppermint = awesome! These cookies look great :)

    Oh by the way on your blogger profile page you should put a link to your wordpress blog :)

  9. December 8, 2009 1:21 pm

    Michelle, These look so amazing. I may just have to go back on my word and make another recipe with peppermint. These so trump the peppermint brownies!

  10. December 8, 2009 1:37 pm

    These cookies look fantastic and so festive. I want some now. :)

  11. Laurel permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:29 am

    My sister makes a version of Peppermint cookies and they are SO GOOD! Except they’re not chocolate and she makes them as pin wheel cookies. I’ve had a few other kinds of peppermint cookies from an Indianapolis Specialty Desserts place. They were good, but I do have to say that the way my sister makes them is just fantastic.

  12. December 15, 2009 11:08 am

    doesn’t candy cane make everything look so festive? love it!

  13. Mea permalink
    December 15, 2009 9:13 pm

    Made these today. Taste fantastic, kind of remind me of thin mint cookies. They didn’t turn out nearly as dark (just a dark brown, they don’t look chocolatey) but I’m thinking that could have something to do with the fact that I used half mint chips and half semi sweet chips.

Trackbacks

  1. 50 Peppermint Desserts - Something Swanky

Leave a Reply

