Skip to content

Gingerbread cookies

December 12, 2009

Soft Gingerbread Cookies

I bought the most adorable gingerbread men cookie cutters last Christmas and have been looking forward to baking with them ever since.  I’ve also been wanting to try my hand at royal icing for quite a while now, so what better time to give them both a try?

I used a recipe for a soft gingerbread cookie, which tastes good, but didn’t do the cookie cutters justice.  Because the cookie was so soft, the edges weren’t as defined as I was hoping they’d be.  That would have been no problem for another cookie cutter, but these cookies are supposed to look like they’ve had a bite taken out of them, so you should be able to see teeth marks, but you don’t.  You definitely get the idea though.  Would you believe Jim thought I made a normal batch of gingerbread men and then decapitated or amputated them all??  Weirdo.

These cookies were great for my introduction to royal icing.  I was happily surprised at how nicely the icing mixed up and how easy it was to work with.  Cookies decorated with royal icing always look so perfect that I just imagined that it must be stressful and difficult.  In reality, that couldn’t be further from the truth.  I need more practice (and patience), but I’m looking forward to trying it again.

Recipe:  Soft Gingerbread Cookies

(adapted from Average Betty)

1 c. unsalted butter

1/3 c. firmly packed light brown sugar

1 tsp. ginger

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 large egg

1/4 c. molasses

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

Cream butter and brown sugar in the bowl of your electric mixer.  Add ginger, cinnamon, cloves, vanilla, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.  Add egg and molasses.  Mix well, pausing to scrape down sides of bowl as needed.  Add flour and mix on low until thoroughly combined.  Dough will be rather sticky.  Spoon dough into a covered container and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

When ready to bake the cookies, preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Generously flour work surface and rolling pin.  Divide dough in half, roll, and cut with cookie cutters.  Place cut-outs on ungreased baking sheet.  Bake for 6-8 minutes.  Makes approx. 2 dozen cookies.

Recipe:  Royal Icing

4 c. powdered sugar

2 Tbsp. meringue powder

5 Tbsp. water

(If you want some good tips and techniques, visit Annie’s Eats for a tutorial.  That’s also where I found this recipe.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2009 12:45 pm

    So with “regular” gingerbread man shape cookies they should come out okay? I’ve been thinking of doing some gingerbread cookies… actually, I want to do them tomorrow… hope I can find all these ingredients… I don’t think I’ll do shapes though.

  2. December 12, 2009 2:50 pm

    Love the amputees :P

  3. December 12, 2009 4:50 pm

    I don’t know Michelle those cookies could be a bit disturbing! LOL! I kinda thought the same thing as Jim. :)I just thought you went ahead and decorated cookies that were broken.

    You did a wonderful job! Doesn’t look like your first go at cookie decorating.
    ~ingrid

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 13, 2009 1:27 am

    Hey, Diana! Yep, these cookies are good and all, they just didn’t show the teeth marks on my cookie cutters. The trees and mittens turned out great though. Let me know how you like them.
    ~ Michelle

  5. Lori permalink
    December 13, 2009 4:04 am

    I guess I’m weird too; I also thought they were decapitated or amputated after baking. I wonder what that says about me?? This should be turned over to a shrink for studying! :)

  6. December 13, 2009 6:41 am

    I thought you cut limbs off too! I’m sure the teeth marks would have been funny. I still think they’re pretty cute though!

  7. December 14, 2009 1:59 am

    these are slightly morbid but still adorable and i love ’em! your decorating is a job well done! :)

  8. December 15, 2009 12:11 pm

    These are so funny, I also thought you got happy with the knife and mutilated these until I read the post. Very cute cutters. I am a cheat and buy the royal icing mix.

  9. December 19, 2009 7:00 pm

    Sorry the recipe didn’t work out to show off the cutters but cute cookies nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

