Skip to content

Peanut butter balls

December 14, 2009

Peanut Butter Balls

Beyond a shadow of a doubt, these cookies are the tastiest family tradition I’m passing on to my kids.  This is my mom’s recipe and there has never, ever, ever been a Christmas without them.  They are perfect in every way.  Well, I might be a little biased, but I doubt it.  {smiling while wiping flecks of chocolate from the keyboard}

Our favorite way to eat these little nuggets of happiness is straight from the freezer.  They are seriously good that way.  Not that they aren’t mighty fine at room temp, but there’s something wonderful about reaching into the freezer and pulling one of these out.  Or two.  Okay, okay, three or four then!  Don’t judge me!

Claudia and I made these cookies over the weekend.  She is some little baker, I’m telling you.  With Sam, I can count on his help for approximately 5-10 minutes, then he’s off doing something else.  But with Claudia it’s a whole different story.  If that girl says she’s gonna help me bake, well then, she’s gonna help me bake until the last cookie is done.  The messier her little apron gets, the happier she is.  Big deal if she tosses a little powdered sugar on her cheeks and swipes some across her forehead.  She’s working hard in the kitchen and she should look the part.  Seriously, she is so stinkin’ cute it’s not even funny.  And she really is helpful in her 5-year-old way.  She helped measure and mix, roll and decorate.  And boy, did we get messy.  There was powdered sugar everywhere.  But it was fun and maybe someday she’ll be making these with her kids.  How awesome would that be?

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Balls

2 c. creamy peanut butter

2 c. powdered sugar

1/2 c. butter, softened

3 c. Rice Krispies cereal

12 oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

paraffin wax slivers   *(I know you might be wondering why, but stick with me here.)

Cream peanut butter, powdered sugar, and butter until smooth and creamy.  Add cereal and stir with a wooden spoon until thoroughly combined.  Using powdered sugar on your hands to prevent sticking, roll 1″ balls of peanut butter mixture and place them on a waxed paper lined baking sheet.

Melt chocolate chips with paraffin wax slivers in a double boiler or heat-proof bowl over simmering water.  *(The paraffin wax may seem unusual, but that’s how these cookies have always been made so I’m not gonna mess with perfection here.  I’ve included a photo so you can see about how much to add.)  Dip balls in chocolate to cover.  Return to waxed paper.  Decorate with sprinkles, if desired.  Place peanut butter balls in refrigerator to set.  Can be kept for quite some time in the freezer.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 9:27 am

    These are adorable and clearly delicious–I mean, chocolate and peanut butter? Please. And putting them in the freezer is sheer genius!

  2. December 14, 2009 9:39 am

    the paraffin wax is an excellent trick, although it’d take a massive fail to make something like these beauties inedible. yeah, this is one tradition worth passing along!

  3. December 14, 2009 11:15 am

    What a sweet little tradition. I can almost picture her covered in powdered sugar in the kitchen. I love the memories you two are creating together.

  4. December 14, 2009 12:12 pm

    I can see that becoming a tradition in our household – they look and sound amazing!

  5. December 14, 2009 1:09 pm

    WOW. You’re right; so similar! Love the nonpareils on top!

  6. December 15, 2009 1:43 am

    Of the millions of things I am capable of baking, these are the only things my hubby wants every year. In Ohio they call them Buckeyes and dip them to look like a buckeye, my husband calls them Santa’s Whiskers, never really figured out why! Your photos are fabulous….

  7. December 15, 2009 3:18 am

    It simply doesn’t get better than chocolate and peanut butter. Oh wait, toss in some crispy rice cereal, and it gets better :).

  8. December 15, 2009 4:08 am

    How cute that she helped you out! I can just picture the powered sugar on her face, spread to her shirt and hair! Too cute!

    These look great and I can see my family loving these!!!

  9. Laurel permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:23 am

    I’m not a big fan of peanut butter but my friend took me to this place that makes Indianapolis Specialty Desserts and we both had a piece of something that was similar to this. And I have to say, it was pretty good. Normally I will not eat peanut butter unless it’s paired with something really good. For example, I will not eat peanut butter and jelly unless the jelly is strawberry, raspberry or blueberry. No other flavors will work for me. I’ll also eat peanut butter and chocolate, but there has to be more chocolate than peanut butter.

  10. December 15, 2009 12:10 pm

    Aah ha! I also make my peanut butter balls or Buckeyes with krispies too, love that crunch. My hubby likes them smooth though, which is so boring.

  11. December 15, 2009 5:02 pm

    I loooove peanut butter balls! I’ll have to make these with my daughter this year. She loves to help out in the kitchen too!

  12. December 17, 2009 2:49 pm

    These are adorable! So easy to prepare too. Great idea to add rice krispies for that crunchy texture!

  13. December 19, 2009 7:05 pm

    This sounds like the perfect treat for my PB-lovin boyfriend who just bought me a computer for Xmas (oh how could I ever beat that? =x). Thanks for sharing this with us!

  14. December 23, 2009 8:22 pm

    mmmm. these look amazing. i have a major craving for pb and chocolate at all times. i can’t wait to make.. mmm.

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolaty Weekend Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate – Delicious Chocolate Recipes

Leave a Reply

