Skip to content

Pumpkin swirl bread

December 19, 2009

Pumpkin Swirl Bread

I know I’ve been posting a lot of pumpkin recipes, but I’ve gotta share one more.  This is probably considered a must-have at Christmas in my family.  I don’t know who would miss it more if I didn’t take it to my parents’ house – Dani, Poppy, or Jim.  It’s pretty delicious, and that cream cheese swirl sets this bread apart from any pumpkin bread you’ve ever had.

I’ve been baking this for years now and I have no idea when or where I found the recipe.  I typically make a couple of these and freeze them so I’m not doing a lot of last-minute baking.  They freeze up wonderfully and it’s also an easy recipe to double.  Looks like this one isn’t gonna make it ’til Christmas.  I guess I’ll have to make a replacement so they let me in the door!

Recipe:  Pumpkin Swirl Bread

Swirl:

8 ounces cream cheese

1/4 c. sugar

1 egg, beaten

Bread:

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1 c. pumpkin puree

1/2 c. melted butter

1 egg, beaten

1/3 c. water

Grease and flour loaf pan, or spray with baking spray.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Blend cream cheese, 1/4 c. sugar, and 1 beaten egg in a bowl until smooth.  Set aside.

Whisk together flour, 1 1/2 c. sugar, baking soda, salt, and spices in another mixing bowl.  (Yes, it is a lot of bowls, but it’s worth it!!) Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine pumpkin puree, melted butter, 1 beaten egg, and water.  Add the flour mixture, mixing just until moistened.  Reserve 1 1/2-2 cups of batter.  Pour remaining batter into the prepared loaf pan.  Pour cream cheese mixture over batter and top with the reserved pumpkin batter.  Cut through the batter with a knife to swirl.

Bake at 350 degrees for 70 minutes, or until tester comes out clean.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Remove to wire rack.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 4:27 am

    Wow, this sounds great for any time of of year! Thanks for the recipe, I’m bookmarking it!

  2. December 19, 2009 7:49 am

    i think i immediately become enamored of anything involving a swirl of any kind. it’s a beautiful bread!

  3. December 19, 2009 10:49 am

    Imade a version of this for the first time this year and it was so good! I wouldn’t let you in the door unless you had a loaf of that either!

  4. December 19, 2009 12:29 pm

    I love pumpkin. This looks great! thanks for posting.

  5. December 19, 2009 5:08 pm

    Looks and sounds wonderful. I don’t blame your family for locking you out if you came with it.
    ~ingrid

  6. December 20, 2009 2:47 am

    You can just keep on posting pumpkin recipes! One can never have enough of those and this looks like another winner! Lovely!

  7. December 20, 2009 11:59 pm

    The cream cheese swirl looks delish!

  8. December 27, 2009 6:12 pm

    Oh man, this is a cruel thing to do to a girl sustaining herself with protein bars at lengthy hours in the office ;p. What a wonderful treat to behold! Happy early new year!

Trackbacks

  1. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » Cheese Swirl Pumpkin Cake

Leave a Reply

