Skip to content

Christmas Belles

December 21, 2009

Oh my gosh!  After being delayed by a major 16 inch snowfall on Sat., the kiddos and I have safely arrived at my parents’ house for Christmas.  We came for Christmas a little early so we could attend a play called “Christmas Belles.”  Wanna know why?  ‘Cause Bea was the star of the show! Yes, my sister Bea, who started this blog with me almost a year ago.  Well, then she ditched me, but that’s not important right now.

Anyway, we came up here early so we could go to the show.  And I am so glad we did.  Sixteen inches of snow, I scoff at you!  It was gonna take more than that to keep me from seeing Bea’s theatrical debut.
She was absolutely, positively wonderful!  I’m so proud of her!  I seriously sat in the theater with a ridiculous grin on my face every time she came on stage.  I couldn’t help myself.  {still grinning!}  Let me set the stage for you…

In the small town of Fayro, Texas, live the three Futrelle sisters – Honey Raye (Bea), Frankie, and Twink.  Honey Raye is planning a rather nontraditional Christmas play (in her words, “… a Honey Raye Futrelle… and Company… Bethlehem-apalooza!“); Frankie is expecting her second set of twins at the same time that she’s marrying off her first set of twin girls; and Twink is serving time for burning down half the town in an act of revenge against a former beau.

The Tabernacle of the Lamb’s Christmas Program is in utter chaos because most of the cast has gotten food poisoning from attending a pancake supper.  Honey Raye insists that the show must go on, despite a biting sheep, family secrets, crime, and a Santa with a kidney stone.  And she’s willing to do what she has to do to make it all happen.

The good citizens of Fayro will never forget this Christmas pageant, and it’s made all the more memorable by an appearance by the King.  And I do mean Elvis.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 9:13 pm

    O how wonderful that your sister is the star in a play! And great that you managed despite all the snow (wow, 16 inches!! And I thought our snow was a lot…) Have a great time!

  2. December 22, 2009 3:18 am

    Oh cute! I bet she did a wonderful job! Glad you guys arrived in time to see it!

  3. December 23, 2009 4:03 pm

    So fun! I would be grinning from ear to ear too.

  4. December 29, 2009 6:38 am

    Man, I could have swore I commented on this post! I’m going crazy! :)

    Your sister’s play sounds HIL-arious! I love that middle photo of her with her hand up.
    ~ingrid

Leave a Reply

