Skip to content

Spiced pecans

December 21, 2009
tags:

Spiced Pecans

I made these last Christmas for the first time, and they were so delicious that I bookmarked the recipe with the intentions of making them again this year.  I forgot how much extra sugar mixture I had when I was done though.  I could have nearly doubled the amount of pecans and egg/water mixture, and had plenty of sugar and spices to coat them all.  Of course, maybe that’s just me since I don’t want them completely smothered in sugar.  If you make these, you’ll want to keep that in mind.

Recipe:  Spiced Pecans

(from allrecipes.com)

1 egg white, lightly beaten

1 Tbsp. water

3 c. pecan halves

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, if you like.  In a bowl, whisk egg white with water.  Add pecans and stir to coat.  In a different bowl, mix together sugar, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg.  Sprinkle and stir into moistened pecans.  Spread pecans onto prepared baking sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes; stir.  Bake for an additional 10 minutes; stir.  Pecans may bake for another 5-10 minutes, but be sure to check on them so they don’t burn.  Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 12:19 pm

    I think that’s pretty typical of sugared nuts. When I made cinnamon sugared almonds for Easter I also had a ton of sugar left over. They look tasty!

  2. December 22, 2009 3:13 am

    pecans are good. pecans shrouded in sugar and spices are better. these look great. :)

  3. Dani permalink
    December 27, 2009 1:49 am

    Soooooo delicious! I think my husband and I ate all of them this Christmas!

  4. December 29, 2009 6:41 am

    Okay, now I really think I’m losing it. This is another one I thought I commented on.

    I want some of these. We love spiced/candied nuts! Thanks for sharing. I’d be even more thankful if you’d be so kind as to send me some…hint, hint and cookies! LOL
    ~ingrid

  5. December 31, 2009 5:23 am

    With the family tradition of shipping Georgia pecans to me in the Pacific Northwest, this recipe will likely become a staple in my kitchen. Pecans so good you want to keep them whole and unadulterated. This recipe gilds the lily nicely. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

