Skip to content

Impossible coconut pie

December 29, 2009

Impossible Pie

I visit Grace’s blog on a regular basis, and as soon as I saw her Mambino’s impossible pie, I emailed the link to my mom.  While I’ve never been a coconut fan, she surely is, and I knew she’d want to give this a try.

Since I’ve spent such an extra long time with her this Christmas, we had plenty of time for baking.  She’d been wanting to make Grace’s pie, so we gathered up the ingredients and whipped it up.  Mom’s larger pie plates were already full of pies, so we used a small pie plate and poured the extra batter into ramekins.  We all agreed that the presentation in the ramekins was beautiful.  Who doesn’t love having their own little dessert?  The only thing we thought could have made it prettier was a big dollop of whipped cream in the middle.

As it turned out, everyone who tried this pie loved it.  My brother-in-law Matt especially enjoyed it, and I’d be surprised if he and Dani didn’t make one of their own at home.  Thanks, Grace!  You made all the coconut lovers in my family really happy.

Recipe:  Impossible Pie

(straight from A Southern Grace)

3 eggs

1/4 c. butter, melted and slightly cooled

1/2 c. self-rising flour  (Make your own by using 1/2 c. all-purpose flour, 3/4 tsp. baking powder, and 1/8 tsp. salt.)

1 3/4 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 c. milk

2 c. flaked or shredded coconut

1 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 10-inch pie plate (or muffin tin or ramekins) with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs and add in the cooled, melted butter.  Blend in the flour and sugar; then add the milk, coconut, vanilla, and salt.  Beat until thoroughly mixed.  Pour into the prepared dish.

Bake 40-50 minutes, or until the coconut becomes golden brown and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cover and refrigerate any leftover pie.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 5:35 am

    This looks delicious, just heavenly

  2. December 29, 2009 6:45 am

    I saw this at Grace’s and have thought about trying it as I have a TON of coconut stored in the freezer. I’m just not sure how well it will go over with the kiddos. Did yours like it?
    ~ingrid

  3. December 29, 2009 10:15 am

    hooray! you don’t know how much it thrills me that ya’ll made this and loved it as much as we do! it really is a delicious creation, perfect for the coconut-lover. i think i’ll go have a piece right now. :)

  4. December 29, 2009 12:46 pm

    I see you have a new look to your site! (Or maybe it isn’t ‘new’ anymore… I’ve been out of the internet loop for too long!) Looks cute!

    I’m not usually a big coconut fan either, but every once in awhile it is nice for a change. I might have to try this.

  5. December 29, 2009 1:16 pm

    I love that you don’t have to make a crust for this. My sister thinks she’s allergic to coconut and anytime I make anything with it, she thinks I’m trying to kill her. So I’ll save this for me. yummy!

  6. December 29, 2009 1:17 pm

    Oh and did you cook the ramekins for the same amount of time as the larger pie plate?

  7. Dani permalink
    December 31, 2009 3:07 am

    This was a very tasty treat…I LOVE COCONUT!!! My question is why is there not a photo displayed showing my hand holding a spoon?

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 31, 2009 4:43 am

    Monica – We did take the ramekins out earlier than the pie plate, but I’m afraid I can’t tell you how long it baked. We just watched it until it got golden and did the knife in the center to test it.

    Hilarious about your sister! I have always told people I was allergic to coconut because I really, really hated it growing up. Now I can bake with it and try it, even if I’m not crazy about it. LOL

    ~Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:14 am

    Emily – Thanks!!

    Ingrid – We couldn’t get the kids within 3 feet of it, but the coconut-crazy-folks really like it.

    Grace – My family thanks you!!

    Farmer Gal – I think you need the right people to feed for this one. If they aren’t big fans of coconut, this isn’t gonna work for them.

    Dani – Very funny. Let me explain… Dani did hold a fork poised over the ramekin for one of my pics. Sorry you didn’t make the cut. haha xoxo

    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

